Skip to content

The thing with feathers

March 16, 2012

There’s an Emily Dickinson poem that’s  been making its way around the blogosphere lately. It begins: “Hope is the thing with feathers, that perches in the soul.”

That one line has been running through my head all week. Yesterday I sat on the back porch in a patch of sunshine, wearing shorts, sharing a grapefruit with Asher. I balanced the white porcelain plate on my knee and we dribbled juice all over ourselves. The older boys ran back and forth with pitchers of water to begin their endless summer game of Kill the Ants.

And I marveled. I marveled at the warm air on my bare skin and how summer has landed itself squarely in my lap. I marveled at how my children have become best friends after so many years of thinking it would all end in some Lord of the Flies moment. And I just kept thinking: Hope is the thing with feathers. Hope is the thing with feathers.

In that moment there was a cry from above. I looked up. A flock of geese, in perfect V-formation, slid their way across the sky. It was as if they pulled spring behind them, unfurling it like a flag as they returned home. Hope, on the wing.

“Hope” is the thing with feathers 
That perches in the soul 
And sings the tune without the words 
And never stops – at all 

And sweetest – in the Gale – is heard 
And sore must be the storm 
That could abash the little Bird
That kept so many warm

I’ve heard it in the chillest land 
And on the strangest Sea 
Yet – never – in Extremity,
It asked a crumb – of me.
6 Comments
  1. Vivenne Lewis permalink
    March 17, 2012 12:07 am

    I love the way you see life in a grand way, in the simple moments of your day.

  2. March 17, 2012 10:42 pm

    Beautiful, Tiffany! I agree 100 percent with Vivienne’s sentiments!

  3. March 17, 2012 11:16 pm

    Sorry, I talked about you on my blog. I hope you don’t mind.

  4. Vivienne permalink
    March 22, 2012 9:13 pm

    I love this post! Is that Preston playing tennis?

Trackbacks

  1. Running green « The Tiffany Window

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

