Skip to content

Mothers of faith

May 13, 2012

I am so, so excited to have this book in my hands. (And in the hands of my mom, who didn’t know about this project at all.) Two years ago I was invited to contribute to a book about mothers of faith. It is always a privilege to write about my mother (and grandmother), though I will never be able to do either of them full justice.

Here’s a closeup of the picture from my wedding day, courtesy of my incredibly talented cousin Justin Hackworth:

Since receiving “Life Lessons from Mothers of Faith” last week, I’ve been poring over its pages. It is a lovely, lovely book, filled with photos, graphics, and most of all, inspiring stories of mothers. You have words from well-heeled, well-known Mormons, but also contributions from those of us who don’t live such a public life.

However, in each case, you come away moved by the impact of good mothers. I have not always been proud to be a mother. There were days in my past when I would have traded it in for almost anything: driving a forklift, sorting trash, banging my head against a wall. Thankfully, we are in happier times. (More on that here.) ¬†However, I read this book and it reiterates my conviction: I am proud to do this. I’m proud to be a mother.

Moreover, I am proud to pay tribute to my own mother, who raised me to believe that being a mother was the greatest aspiration on earth. She was right about that, you know. Happy Mother’s Day to you all!

p.s. With apologies for the back-to-back book reviews. Tomorrow we’ll be back to our regular scheduled programming: muffin-making, lemonade stands, seed planting, backyard tree scandal.

7 Comments
  1. lonigee permalink
    May 14, 2012 6:21 am

    Tiffany, what an honor for you to be asked to contribute. But, those of us who read you on a regular basis are not at all surprised. And, it’s certainly not surprising that your mother should be included in this beautiful book. (BTW, when they do a remake of this book in 30 years, you will be a featured mother!) Both you and Janice are worthy of this tremendous honor!

    • May 14, 2012 12:51 pm

      Thanks Loni. My mom is a good sport. It isn’t always easy having a writerly daughter!

  2. sheralie permalink
    May 14, 2012 11:32 am

    Oooh I want to read this. I love book reviews, never apologize for them!

  3. Alice-Anne permalink
    May 14, 2012 3:37 pm

    how exciting and what a fun mother’s day surprise for your well-deserving mother!

  4. May 16, 2012 12:10 pm

    This is super exciting — I bet your Mom loved it!

  5. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    May 17, 2012 6:15 pm

    I’m loving the book! Your contribution, Tiffany, about your Mom was terrific! She’s an amazing Mom and you are following suit. Love you, Mom L

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

