Skip to content

Halloween 2009: the pumpkins

November 2, 2009

Note: Since Halloween took a full week of preparations, I figured I would spread the celebration postings over the next three days. A fitting tribute, yes?

pulling out pumpkin

carving hands

Halloween Eve was picture perfect. As soon as the kids dropped their backpacks, we were out in the back carving away, with a running track of “The Indiana Jones” theme song, “Monster Mash” and “Ghostbusters” playing in the background. (Jackson put “Monster Mash” on repeat until he had it memorized, start to finish.)

pumpkin pull hand

mom guts pumpkin

pumpkin carving fam

I am the lone female in our family of six, and yet the only one who enjoys cleaning out the pumpkin innards, which means I cleaned the interior of three pumpkins this year. I happily accept my responsibility. I think scooping out pumpkin seeds is one of the great unsung joys of life.

pumpkins lit

all lined up

Mr. Jack-o-lantern

Mr. Jack-o-lantern
Is very round and fat.
He has a yellow candle
Tucked underneath his hat.
It makes his face look cheery
And very, very bright
When he winks and smiles at me
On spooky Halloween night!
–Alene Dalton, Myriel Cluff Ashton and Erla Young
3 Comments
  1. Meredith permalink
    November 2, 2009 10:01 pm

    Nice lookin pumpkins! I love the one of Addison and the lit pumpkins. What a cool picture!

  2. Ondalynn permalink
    November 4, 2009 8:28 pm

    Thanks for including the pumpkin poem at the bottom. I was trying to recite it to my kids the other day when we were carving pumpkins, but couldn’t remember all the words. Thank goodness for Tiffany!

  3. Ali permalink
    November 5, 2009 4:25 pm

    We sing Mr. Jack-o-lantern every year in my music class! I was so excited to see it on your blog! I’m so glad I saw the link to this on Seth’s gchat! I’m going to become a regular reader!

Comments are closed.

