Skip to content

Halloween 2009: the costumes

November 3, 2009

Each year, I vow to go low key. Then Addison comes to me with a particular request, and, well, I just have to see if I can try it. At what other point in my life will I have the chance to dissect an umbrella to make bat wings (Halloween 2008), or hunt around for the perfect trash can to house a sweet little R2D2? Exactly.

Here are the results from this year:

Addison R2D2

In the end, R2D2 wasn’t nearly as difficult as I had imagined. One trash can, some castoff styrafoam packaging, the boys’ handmade drawings, a few buttons, window screen, (and only one second-degree burn on my hand from the glue gun) and we were good to go.

Magician Jackson

For Jackson’s magician costume, I whipped out the bowtie and cumberbund the night before.He’s been practicing his coin and removable-thumb tricks for weeks.

Soldier preston

Preston, thankfully, was gracious enough to request the old soldier standby, a costume we received from good friend Jared several years ago. Phew.

Asher giraffe

And Asher was completely content with his bargain-hunt giraffe costume. He actually smiled each time we slid that giraffe hood on him. A natural at this costuming business. Halloween success.

all three bestest

3 Comments
  1. Alice-Anne permalink
    November 3, 2009 11:56 am

    Kenna said: Jackson is funny. She like Asher’s costume the best.
    I, on the other hand, was MOST impressed with Addison’s costume. Way to go, Tiffany!

  2. Meredith permalink
    November 3, 2009 2:58 pm

    Wow! Addison’s costume is so so amazing. Each piece of the costume is so perfect and so creative. Nice job!

  3. November 5, 2009 9:18 pm

    These kids are just too cute. I’m determined to come visiting next year for this and other holidays!

Comments are closed.

