Skip to content

What I found when I cleaned out my purse

November 6, 2009

purse

As the mother of four boys, there are a few places that become neglected, catch-all areas for life. The car is one. My pockets are another. I stand by my dresser each night emptying out Legos, wrappers, Kleenex and string.

Then there is the purse. I cleaned it out yesterday. Here is what I found:

*wallet    *makeup bag   *notebook   *small photo album   *Fisher-Price police car   *I Spy Bag   *four shopping lists

*COSTCO coupons   *Primary program script   *baby hat   *Playmobile pirate   *watch   *teething blanket   *Pull-up

*Joann coupons   *Parent-teacher conference summary   *handout for church trunk-or-treat   *granola bar wrapper

*graham cracker wrapper   *quilting fabric scraps   *church program   *half-eaten Powerbar   *Book of Knock-Knock Jokes

*burp cloth   *orange bouncy ball   *stack of plastic cups   *5 pens   *various receipts   *1 pair swimming goggles

*smushed (but unopened) Powerbar   *toy car   *baby wipes   *1 pair boys underwear   *small bottle hand lotion

*blue and white hankerchief   *hand sanitizer  *2 nursing pads   *1 baggie pretzels   *clothespin   *1 seven-day fitness pass

*keys   *lip balm   *sunglasses   *cough drop   *1 spoon   *police badge sticker   *1 Halloween pencil

AND

1 rock

I figure I’m pretty much set for any emergency, be it swimming the English Channel, hanging laundry, feeding a small multitude, or facing Goliath.

What’s lurking in your purse?

8 Comments
  1. Ali permalink
    November 6, 2009 8:41 am

    Do you have a magic purse? How did all of that fit? I hesitate to confess this publicly, but I just cleaned out my diaper bag and found a dirty diaper and a bag of moldy apple slices. I wonder how long they had been in there! I can’t believe I didn’t smell it first! Yikes!

  2. November 6, 2009 9:39 am

    This is funny! I remember when my girls were smaller, they called me “magic mommy” because I could always produce whatever they asked for out of my purse! It was always filled with all sorts of things, however remote, that I might need in an emergency! My girls are now teenagers and I am currently a “working Mom” so what do I have currently in my purse:

    *wallet *2 pens *3 lipsticks

    *face powder *handful of my business cards

    *pick of the week from Starbucks song “Yo La Tengo”

    *iphone *nail file *Emergen-C *Realtor ActiveKey

    *checkbook *various receipts

    *miscellaneous key I have no idea what it goes to?

    Thank you for sharing this…it brings back very warm joyful memories…

  3. Brenda Muncy permalink
    November 6, 2009 10:15 am

    With all that, you could easily go on “Let’s Make a Deal” and win big 🙂

  4. Christa Yancy permalink
    November 6, 2009 7:31 pm

    You must be Mary Poppins!! Surely there’s a lamp lurking in there, too.

  5. Tiffany permalink*
    November 6, 2009 9:48 pm

    Ali–Right? How DID that all fit? I’m wondering the same thing. Moldy food and dirty diapers–I’m right there with you.

    Sylvia–Oh, I love your list! I think it would be fun to track how the chemistry of my purse contents morph over time. (Fun seeing you in Costco today!)

    Brenda–oh yes, perhaps then my weaknesses will finally be my strengths!

    Christa–And surely a house plant too! Now all I need is a bird chirping on my shoulder and I’ll be set.

  6. Amber permalink
    November 8, 2009 3:29 pm

    When my girls were younger I was obsessed with keeping a super small purse. Probably as a form of rebellion to the convention. And now that I don’t have to carry their junk around I find my purses getting larger and full of all sorts of random objects. Smart.

  7. Dallin permalink
    November 9, 2009 10:46 pm

    Woo Hoo! I just cleaned out my purse, so I feel super responsible. I’ve started keeping a small me purse, and a separate diaper/kids stuff bag. The diaper bag is the gross one. It had
    *2 cloth diapers *1 empty ziploc *about 10 cloth wipes (seriously, diapers to wipes ratio is way way off) *3 open and half eaten granola bars *2 barnyard animals from the set I’ve been trying to reunite for the past week…
    I can’t remember the rest, but I was saddest about those yummy granola bars going to waste. Tiffany, what a funny, wonderful post!!!!

  8. November 10, 2009 6:31 pm

    Practically the mary-poppins handbag! I love it…especially the joanns coupons. I think my parents are annoyed with all the ones they find lying around the house! 🙂

Comments are closed.

