Skip to content

Crayon making

November 17, 2009

I’m still getting my grasp on four-year-olds. It is such a fun and challenging stage: so verbal and inquisitive and restless. All my kids go a bit stir-crazy at four. They’re on the cusp of reading, but not quite there. They want so badly to be helpful, but don’t quite grasp following a list of instructions. They’re ready, but not old enough, for big things.

Jackson at four spent a lot of time spinning around in our green arm chair. Four-year-old Addison was my shadow, asking questions, asking to help, asking me to tie his blanket around his head like a turban. Preston, now four, spends a great deal of time doing handstands on the couch. He stumbles in each morning, hair flying all about like a Rockhopper penguin, mumbles a greeting, dives onto the couch, and flips upside down.

So I’ve been trying to make a more concerted effort to come up with fun things for us to do together during the day. I put these activities on my daily to-do list, which means I am accountable, which is always a good idea around here.

Today we did something I’ve been wanting to do since I was a kid. We gathered all the broken crayons in the house, peeled off their paper, melted them down, and made stained-glass crayons.

The results were great. And the only casualty in the entire operation was the mini muffin tin, which wasn’t greased as well as it should have. (Sorry Kat! Good thing I drew your name for Christmas.) And Preston loved his little crayons. And for one glorious hour, he was not upside down on the couch.

7 Comments
  1. Christa permalink
    November 17, 2009 8:09 am

    What fun!! We have done those – keep your eyes peeled for silicone molds in the $1 bins/thrift stores; they are great for crayons – fun shapes AND they pop right out! Also good for quickie gifts with a little notepad or homemade book. 🙂

  2. November 17, 2009 10:52 am

    Silicon–brilliant. I was able to salvage the muffin tin in the end–thank heavens for fingernails!

  3. Alice-Anne permalink
    November 17, 2009 4:50 pm

    You described 4 year-old isms perfectly! Looks like a fun project. I have been using a book called “Easy Daily Plans” (by Sue Fleischmann) to give me activity ideas for preschool days/themes with Kenna. I’ve loved it. I actually bought it on-line b/c I use it all the time. I’ve been doing projects/activities a lot more than before and my 4 year old really has needed it! So check it out on your library tours!

  4. November 17, 2009 6:00 pm

    I ruined my mini muffin tin the same way. How funny. Too bad we don’t live closer so our four year olds could wreak havoc together . . . We read the Book of Mormon story reader over and over as well as http://www.schoolofabraham.com/bomtoddler.htm when I remember. It was Jeffrey’s favorite too . .

  5. Christy permalink
    November 17, 2009 6:12 pm

    How fun! I have been meaning to do that for about five years. Thanks for the motivation. And speaking of crayons, little Zeke is coloring with them all over our floor. Bye!

  6. November 17, 2009 9:53 pm

    Oh, these are all such lovely ideas! Keep ’em coming. I’ve been using a book someone gave me called “The Preschooler’s Busy Book” which I love, but I’ll have to try the one you requested, Alice-Anne. And Sheralie, I’ve heard of that BOM curriculum, but have never tried it. It sounds wonderful. You are all such good mamas!

  7. November 19, 2009 8:02 am

    Something fun to use are the pretzel or candy molds, you can buy them by the season and have ghost crayons or santa crayons, etc…

    One time I bought giant boxes of crayons to try to make homemade crayons! It was really funny and I didn’t think I’d ‘ever’ have a big bucket of used crayons. Now I find them in my purse, car, bed…. I think they multiple in the night 🙂

Comments are closed.

