Skip to content

Flying solo: survival tip #1

December 1, 2009

So Seth has been busy lately, gallivanting off to exotic places like this: (Yes, that is the Yale library circulation desk. I’ve always dreamed of working in a library, but to check out books in a cathedral, with flying buttresses! It’s a job I would never tire of.)

Which means I am here with all these energetic boys, wrestling and juggling. A few surprising things have emerged from this whole experience. I have found that I 1)Really can be successful at planning and organization when forced and 2)It’s really great to have Seth around. A lot of things slide around here when he is gone, and they have to do mostly with laundry, dishes, general cleaning, etc. But I learned a few tricks of the trade.

So, today I present Survival tip #1 when your spouse is gone: Enlist the troops.

Or in other words, delegate. None of that baby food may make it into that actual mouth, and most of the orange juice may be consumed in-concentrate (which is still a weakness of mine, so who am I to scold?), but it keeps little hands busy and Mama’s hands free, if just for a moment.

4 Comments
  1. Ali permalink
    December 1, 2009 7:29 am

    I have a funny story about the Yale library. Apparently there was a really wealthy Harkness family that lived near Yale and donated a lot of money to the University. At one point, the matron of the family (who was very old) donated a lot of money to build a church in the middle of the campus.

    They didn’t want to build a church, but they did want a new library. So, they built a library that looked like a church. The woman who donated the money was old enough, that they never even took her inside. They drove her past the finished building and she just assumed it was a church.

    This is probably anecdotal, but I heard it from one of the relatives of the old Harkness family. I wonder if it’s true!

  2. Ali permalink
    December 1, 2009 7:30 am

    Oh – by the way- I love the picture of Jackson (is that Jackson? He looks so grown up!) feeding the baby. I thought I might enlist Will to feed Charlie. That’s a classic picture.

  3. Sheralie permalink
    December 1, 2009 5:41 pm

    That library is lovely. One of the U of C libraries looks very similar and I enjoyed every minute I had to go for work. Your time will come, Tiffany.

  4. December 1, 2009 9:11 pm

    Ali: what a great story! I can totally see your ancestors being library builders.

    Sheralie: We should take a “Great Library Tour” someday. Wouldn’t that be fun?

Comments are closed.

