Skip to content

Where we’re headed

December 21, 2009
tags:

There’s been a great deal of talk in our family about where we’ll be next year. Seth has been in the thick of job interviews, flying around the country. This weekend, after a great deal of thought, prayer, and mounds of talk, we finally landed upon our future.

In making our decision, I was reminded, once again, why I should never make “I shall never” statements, such as “I shall never live in Florida” (I once told my family, only to later land there for four memorable years). We are headed to the most unlikely of places for our family, and yet it feels so right. Still, Seth and I keep casting sideways glances at one another and saying, “Are we crazy?”

After eight years in the sunbelt, we’re headed to the ice belt. See that eagle up there? We’ll be landing on his tail, tunneling our way through the snow for eight months out of the year. There will be a lot of sweaters. I like sweaters. Garrison Keillor lives there. I love Garrison Keillor. My kids will finally see snow, mounds of it. We will always have a white Christmas. Next year’s Christmas list has already been written: ice skates and cross country skis. And if we land upon a pile of money, maybe a snowmobile. I need to learn how to knit more than just hats and scarves. I need to knit the thickest, warmest, house-sized sock and just pull it over our family, because we are going to freeze. We went out last night and the kids were crying from the Austin coldβ€”it was 50 degrees. Our blood is so thin it’s nearly transparent. But we are going to love it. What adventure! A brand-new place. I’ve been all over the country, but never here, cheek-t0-jowl with Canada.

“I will never live in Minnesota. Who lives in Minnesota?”

Me, it turns out.

14 Comments
  1. Dallin permalink
    December 21, 2009 7:35 am

    Yay, Tiffany! I’m so happy for selfish reasons– we’ll only be 7 1/2 hours away from you for AT LEAST the next 5 years!!!!! Hooray!
    Also, there’s probably some good farms around there where you can buy fresh milk and vegetables, too.
    Congrats!
    Janelle

  2. Sheralie permalink
    December 21, 2009 7:56 am

    That does sound cold! Brrr. Congratulations on a big decision!

  3. Amber permalink
    December 21, 2009 8:17 am

    That is fantastically exciting to have a settled destination. I’m going to just borrow some of your enthusiasm for the cold because it’s way beyond me to get excited about snow. Been there, done that. But yes, so exciting to see the title of the next chapter. Congrats!

  4. Loni permalink
    December 21, 2009 8:41 am

    Tiffany, I really LOVE your columns. You have so much insight, wisdom, fun. But, what happened to all that? I have to admire your attitude about ice and snow. And, I’m happy that it feels so right for you. You go, Lewises.

  5. December 21, 2009 11:17 am

    That is very exciting! Deciding on where to live, especially after having children, can be a really tough decision. I can’t wait to hear about your new adventure there! I am also kicking myself for not coming down to see you more often!! Sending warm wishes your way πŸ™‚

  6. Meredith permalink
    December 21, 2009 11:41 am

    Yay! We are so excited for your family! I have to admit I’m secretly bummed that you won’t be closer to Utah…. But I’ll get over it πŸ™‚
    I told Bryan last night, “Seth said there were tons of good medical schools in Minnesota. Maybe we will end up there.” Bryan’s response was, “Yeah, that’s about ALL they have there.”
    So, yeah Minnesota may be completely random, but we are excited for you guys!

  7. Alice-Anne permalink
    December 21, 2009 1:28 pm

    I forgot about Garrison Keeler…of course you must go to Minnesota! πŸ™‚ Okay, I’m sad, like Meredith, that you won’t be in Utah and Oregon so we could be around you guys more but I’m glad you found a place that you feel right about…even if it does seem crazy!! Bundle up for the ride, huh?!

  8. Christy permalink
    December 21, 2009 2:35 pm

    Woohoo! That will be an adventure! Minnesota is beautiful, and your kids would adjust. The first winter we were in Utah, my kids hated playing outside (even in many layers of snow clothes)–they said it was too cold. The next year they were fine. It may take your kids a few years longer than that, but it will happen. Can’t wait to visit!

  9. Christa Yancy permalink
    December 21, 2009 5:47 pm

    Wow, how exciting!!!!!!!!! I grew up with cold, snowy winters (New Hampshire) and we played outside all.the.time. Make sure to knit strings on your mittens! (speaking of which, I have a super-easy mitten pattern if you’re interested!) It’s going to be beautiful, and you’re so close to Canada, which is gorgeous!!!!

  10. Rachel permalink
    December 22, 2009 10:50 am

    I told you you’d cave. Well Minnesota it is then. A little further than I would have hoped for my selfish reasons but I guess WE can sacrifice for Seth’s career.
    I’m happy you guys were able to make a decision and feel cold….erm….I mean good about it.
    P.S. And of course who wouldn’t want to live near Garrison Keeler.

  11. Ondalynn permalink
    December 22, 2009 11:25 am

    Congrats you guys! We’re so excited for you! It’ll only be about a 17 hour drive to Maryland πŸ™‚ Looks like we’ll have competition for Dallin & Janelle! πŸ™‚ I’m sure you’ll love it up there. When do you leave?

  12. Vivienne Caudle permalink
    December 23, 2009 4:03 pm

    We are so HAPPY for you and Seth!!! We are sad that you won’t be moving here in Oregon but either you will be great where ever you go! πŸ™‚

  13. December 23, 2009 8:56 pm

    I loved my summer in Minnesota when I was 15. Of course, I wasn’t there in the winter! You guys will make the most of it! So very happy for you.

  14. December 28, 2009 8:24 pm

    Oh wow! And COOOOLLLDDD indeed! What wonderful news, to know where you’ll be! And I think you’ll love Minnesota. Generally, cold places, warm people!

Comments are closed.

