Skip to content

Street performing

December 29, 2009

I oftentimes think my children aren’t paying attention. To anything. Jackson spends a great deal of time spinning in circles, dreaming of far-off things.

So we went out last Saturday to this amazing area of Austin, which I have never seen before. I’ve lived in or visited Austin for 15 years and never adventured to SoCo. I was mesmerized!

Also, I was trying to keep Jackson (spinning, mind you) from walking himself in front of a speeding car on Congress.

So we came home and he immediately set up shop. It turns out he was paying attention to all those street performers with their hats full of money. Addison soon followed suit, and before long we had a guitarist and drummer playing for money on the staircase landing. They earned ten cents apiece.

The life of a starving musician begins.

7 Comments
  1. Loni permalink
    December 29, 2009 8:39 am

    This was adorable….I’m sure they will be great musicians following in the PReston Gee family pattern.

  2. Amber permalink
    December 29, 2009 11:52 am

    I love SoCo! What a life ahead for your young street musicians. Just make sure they move somewhere warm if that is their chosen path 🙂

  3. m.e. permalink
    December 29, 2009 5:29 pm

    I attempted to comment on the reunion post but apparently it’s “closed.” Very official. I was so disappointed I couldn’t join the party! Those were golden, wonderful years.

    I hope your family had a wonderful Christmas!
    xo

  4. Jill Turner permalink
    December 30, 2009 4:48 pm

    Tiffany,
    I love all of your posts. Everything you write is so wonderful and inspiring! What a time of year to be heading to Minnesota-BRRRR! I’m sure the people there will love you and your family. Fun to see how your family is growing up! Have a very happy New Year!

  5. Sheralie permalink
    January 2, 2010 8:36 pm

    For some reason I saw the title of this blog long before I read it . . . and I was imagining your family performing on the street. Glad to see they are starting at home first 🙂

  6. January 2, 2010 10:31 pm

    Friends, it is so fun to “see” you all here. Thanks for following our family’s silliness.

    Sheralie, my brother and I joke about forming a Celtic band, the kind that dressed in medieval garb and performs in front of the public library. It’s really such a temptation.

  7. Vivienne Caudle permalink
    January 3, 2010 4:41 pm

    Jackson is adorable!! I would put in a few dollars for that cute boy! 🙂

Comments are closed.

