Skip to content

It’s a new year: resolution #1

January 6, 2010

I love the new year. Love it. Love every bit of it. Love putting away Christmas and vacuuming up the pine needles, love organizing (only happens once a year!) and especially making New Year’s resolutions.

This was a big deal in the Gee family. Every year my dad emerged with his yellow Steno pad and we sat in a big circle throwing out our goals. Gees to not dream small. Mt. Kilimanjaro made the list. So did winning a Grammy. And not eating sweets for an entire year.

This year I am determined to keep the goals realistic, minimalistic. I’ve gone from having pages and pages of goals, all broken down into categories, to this year, where I only have five. Five. So doable. Only one hand’s worth. How can I not succeed?

So, introducing goal #1: Write that novel that’s been banging its way around my head for the past three years. There are many novel ideas rattling around, but this one rattles the loudest. So many great possibilities. Never mind that when my dad reviewed our goals from 2007, my number one goal was to write a novel. Never mind that every other person in this world is working on a novel right now. And that the publishing houses are bankrupt. And that my family would probably be better served if I cleaned the kitchen floor instead. This is the year of promise.

Which means I’m giving myself a few ultimatum. Mainly, it is time to focus. No more reading YA novels under the guise of doing market research. I have enough research under my belt for the next 20 years. No more getting distracted. Yes, I want to make more mozzarella cheese, finish those quilts stacked on my shelf, sew bomber hats for my kids (Minnesota, here we come!), knit more scarves, stock more blogs, finally read through an entire issue of “Real Simple”…no, no, no.

The minute those kids go to bed, I must write. Write!

It all starts tomorrow, you see. Or maybe next week…after all, I’ve got an entire year, right?

4 Comments
  1. January 6, 2010 7:18 am

    You are hilarious!!! Can’t wait to read the novel!

  2. January 6, 2010 8:31 am

    You get writing girl, I can’t wait to read what you write šŸ™‚ You are so funny too! Love ya!

  3. January 6, 2010 10:58 pm

    I know me too!!! I spent an hour writing down goals…all in 7 different categories! The chances of them happening….are very good for the month of January and that’s about it! Definitely won’t be writing a novel but i would love to finally use up some of that fabric that i have spent my college savings on! šŸ™‚ I can’t wait to visit Minnesota this summer–we will sew a quilt together in a week! šŸ™‚

  4. Amber permalink
    January 7, 2010 7:53 am

    I neglect cleaning the floor for way more base reasons that the next great American novel. I am waiting on pins and needles now. Just truly excited.

Comments are closed.

