Skip to content

Resolution #2

January 7, 2010

Seth pointed out to me today that we it was ten years ago, this week, that we first met. We were in a news reporting class together, and he was the teacher’s pet who knew every answer. I was the cute, curly-haired blond intent on becoming a foreign correspondent in Russia. It was a match made over newsprint. I turned out to be a terrible reporter, hyperventilating before every deadline while he practically wrote my stories for me. Ten years later he still edits my writing, and has never complained about it once.

When I think of my life on a timeline, I realize all good things started happening once Seth Lewis entered the scene. He is good, through and through. He’s the most honest person I’ve ever known. He has taught me so much about sticking to a task until it is complete. And about writing–the man can wield an em dash like no other. He is a technology whiz, and has a secret dream of abandoning academia to work as a salesman at the Apple store. I can ask him where a scripture is located and he will tell me not only the chapter and verse, but where it is located on the page. He loves breakfast food, brownies, and BYU football. And in our nine years of marriage, I have never seen him overeat.

I could go on. But I’ll stop there.

So, resolution #2: Be the best wife I can be. I’m still working out the details on this one, (while Seth waits with baited breath: “What exactly can I expect from this best wife of mine?” he keeps asking. “Give me time,” I say. “It’s only January 7th!”) I know that it involves consistent dates together every Friday night, good meals, and putting him before the clamor of the kiddos. And some homemade brownies sprinkled in there as well.

Best wife, here I come. No one deserves it more.

Here’s to another ten years of adventure, my dear!

9 Comments
  1. Amber permalink
    January 7, 2010 7:53 am

    And now you’re my hero!

  2. Loni permalink
    January 7, 2010 8:06 am

    Ahhhhhhhhhh…that’s love.

  3. January 7, 2010 8:21 am

    Ahhh, that is wonderful. Love that! Such sweet things to say!

  4. January 7, 2010 10:11 am

    Thanks friends! I’m off to the kitchen for some good wifey baking.

  5. January 7, 2010 4:22 pm

    i have never heard anyone talk sappy-love about my brother (weird)…but since your his wife, i guess its okay. 🙂

    Ah, its been 9 years since i have said, “no touchie” hmm…too long ago.

  6. Sheralie permalink
    January 7, 2010 5:45 pm

    That may be one of the sweetest photos I have ever seen. Is it recent? Newlyweds look like that but how often do couples with four children? What a lovely thing.

  7. January 7, 2010 7:02 pm

    Indeed, before Seth, there was only things like the threat of GSBL hovering in the future! Pfew! 🙂 Very sweet.
    Happy when-you-met-anniversary.

  8. January 7, 2010 10:21 pm

    Emily–I know! Where does the time go? Pretty soon we’ll be telling you “no touchie,” hmm?

    Sheralie–It is recent–from this past summer in Oregon! The Northwest Coast inspires all sorts of romantic feelings. It’s where we went on our honeymoon.

    Zeyna–So true, although the threat of GSBL is always lurking nearby! I have to admit, I got on your blog and “checked” you over, to make sure you hadn’t succumb. You look fab, madame. May we always be able to wear skinny jeans!

  9. January 8, 2010 7:08 am

    What a cute picture!!! And a sweet post. Awwww!!!!!

Comments are closed.

