Skip to content

Resolution #3: No treats!

January 8, 2010

This is one of my favorites. I go for it every year. My mantra a couple years back was: “No sweets on the plate in 2008.” I lasted 100 days. And vowed to never do it again.

Well, here I am.

I’ll do it again, in 2010!

“But is it necessary?” Seth keeps asking.

Necessary! Who said anything about necessary? That’s not what resolutions are about. It’s about pushing yourself to the upper limit. It’s not necessary to climb Everest. Or wake up before 6 a.m. Or write a novel, for that matter.

I have a theory, and you can disagree with me on this one, but I think it’s good to always be a little bit uncomfortable in this here life. It’s that old medieval hairshirt idea. Run the house a little cool in the winter, a little warm in the summer. Snap your wrist with a rubber band when you think bad thoughts. Abstain from sweets. Abstain from a lot of things. It’s what we expect of others. (Pointed out, so eloquently, here.) It’s the great Christian way, is it not?

Plus, challenges are fun. I want to see if I can do it. And this time around, I’m sure I can. I have a strategy, you see. It involves eating copious amounts of fruit in place of refined sugar. We are eight days into January, and I have already eaten my way through about fifty oranges, plus a bag of dried plums.

This all means that I had to be a passive observer in the intense mint-candy making that went on in our house this afternoon.

Oh, chocolate…I’ll again taste your heaven, in 2011.

10 Comments
  1. January 8, 2010 7:06 am

    Mmmmmmmm…..chocolate……

  2. Loni permalink
    January 8, 2010 8:10 am

    Hey, are you sure you want to do this with your sister Katherine delivering daily doses of SWEETS from the cookie store? Well, my hat’s off to you and I’m sure that you can do it. You are a person of high discipline. For me, let’s just say, that this one’s a little too uncomfortable for me. I’ll be uncomfortable with keeping the temperature low in the winter, and in the meantime sitting in the cold, I’ll enjoy a dark chocolate treat once in awhile.

    • Loni permalink
      January 8, 2010 11:59 am

      Tiffany, I thought my reply sounded a little too sarcastic. I have only GREAT admiration for you for this challenge. The truth is, I NEED to do it. But, I fear I wouldn’t last very long. I have cut back on sweets, have gone for a long time with no chocolate; and have said NO to sweets often, but I don’t sustain it for long periods of time. I think ALL OF US would be better off by doing what you are doing. I admire you greatly.

  3. Amber permalink
    January 8, 2010 10:39 am

    Um, crazy.

  4. Alice-Anne permalink
    January 8, 2010 11:07 am

    I admire your 100 day challenge (does that mean you will get treats in 2010 after the 100 days?). I know I couldn’t do…but good for you! I had success for two months with sweets when I only restricted myself to eating them on the weekends (and when I didn’t have them for 5 days I was surprised that I didn’t want them as much thus not overindulging on the weekend) but yeah, I had to give myself a little wiggle room or I wouldn’t have even gone that long. Good luck with all your goals…I’m looking forward to your novel.

  5. January 8, 2010 3:46 pm

    Loni–The cookies do provide for an EXTRA challenge. Even more, Kat is doing this crazy thing with me–clearly, she has the harder job.

    Alice-Anne–Mmm, that wasn’t very clear, was it. Last time was for 100 days–this time I’m in it for the entire year. Come join the party!

  6. January 8, 2010 5:24 pm

    AWESOME!!! I’m so glad you thought of this years ago! I’m doing it one full year too! Although, I started the day after Christmas and it was perfect–because you were so sick of everything that quitting seemed pretty easy to me and I haven’t craved anything so far! I want to see how the difference it makes—like if i can curb my cravings, or weight loss, or just how you feel everyday! šŸ™‚ I’m excited!

  7. Sheralie permalink
    January 8, 2010 6:36 pm

    all sweets? wow. i went a year without chocolate and it changed my life. good luck!! and i love your thoughts of pushing ourselves to the limits . . .

  8. Kristi Linton permalink
    January 8, 2010 9:25 pm

    I’m with ya sista! That’s actually been my resolution as well, and I can relate. When everyone else at Hans’ parents house was diving into Tillamook ice cream and brownies (oh to turn down Tillamook Mudslide was rough!), I graciously held up my hand and opted for a bowl of frozen strawberries as if I actually preferred it over everything else in the world. Our fruit bill has risen! My only fault is habitually eating something that my two-year-old is also eating without realizing what I’ve done. The latest culprit, fruit snacks while shopping Target. Does that count?

  9. January 8, 2010 9:44 pm

    Emily–I’m so glad you’re in. You owe me a hundred bucks if you break, okay? (Or a handmade skirt. I’ll take that instead.)

    Sheralie–Chocolate would certainly be the biggest culprit on my list as well. That and pie…oh, blessed pie.

    Kristi–You deserve brownie (spinach?) points for turning down Tillamook. A huge sacrifice. Fruit snacks have always been a weakness of mine. I was craving something chewy and fruity the other day, so the boys and I made fruit leather. Consumed in FIVE minutes flat. (p.s. Can’t wait to hear about your trip to the NW!)

Comments are closed.

