Skip to content

Resolutions 4 & 5, plus water

January 11, 2010

Photo, from this past summer in Oregon, has very little to do with this post.

(These resolutions are getting a bit tedious, no? Let’s just zip right through these, in no way diminishing their importance): #4 Read scripture daily. I was just assigned to teach the 17-year-old Sunday School class, and I’m loving it. The Old Testament is an incredible book of scriptures.

#5: Don’t go to sleep with a messy house.

And there it is! My road to perfection for 2010.

As a sidenote, I’ve been thinking lately about living in a Yurt. In Alaska. I was inspired by this article about a highly educated couple who lives in a 600-square-foot yurt that has broadband, but no indoor plumbing. I studied the article like a triptik. “We could do this!” I told Seth. He was a little more hesitant. (Such a skeptic!)

“You could really live without indoor plumbing?” he kept asking. “They rely on their dogs to lick the plates clean. They haul water from a well. It’s zero degrees inside.

“Yes, we could do this,” I insisted. ” The boys would love it.”

Well, this weekend Austin experienced a little dance below freezing, our pipes cracked, and we were without water for 48 hours. It was not yurt-like conditions, but it was an adventure. And let me say, we did just fine. The kids, who have a difficult time remembering to flush the toilet and wash their hands in regular conditions, didn’t seem to notice! We got by with several gallon jugs of water stashed in various locations, a lot of hand sanitizer, baby wipes, and Lysol.  I still managed to cook (Eggo waffles–a first for the kids), and I only had to make one jaunt over to my brother’s house to wash a laundry basket full of dishes and take a shower.

“I’m ready for my yurt!” I told Seth.”Look how good we are at this.”

Then Preston threw up all over my bed. After stripping him and the bed, I hauled that ball of laundry to the laundry room and remembered: we have no water. I had forgotten about dirty clothes, the sheer amount of work it takes to keep this family clean-clothed and clean-bedded on a weekly basis. And that’s with a washer and dryer. Mount Laundry and I go way back. (And way up, for that matter, if you were to measure the mound of clothes that lives on my bed.)  Its the household task that slays me weekly.

So when the pipes were fixed today, the first thing I did was run into the laundry room and stuff that vomity mess into the wash. Then we flushed all the toilets in the house and poured ourselves a celebratory glass of water. Then I announced to Seth: “Okay, we could totally still do the yurt thing, but only if there’s a laundromat next door.”

Water. I love you. I will never take you for granted again.

Our first big Texas rainstorm this past fall.

4 Comments
  1. Janelle permalink
    January 11, 2010 8:23 am

    Oooooh. Good ideas Tiffany. I REALLY liked that article. So adventurous!

    I read an article about another family a lot like the one you mentioned. They made a website to document their house-building adventure. I need to learn how to do that fancy link thing, but you can copy and paste the address below. I immediately told Dallin that we were going to build our own sod house too. He didn’t love the idea. Come to think of it, I hadn’t totally thought through the washing machine dilemma either. Excellent point.

    http://www.simondale.net/house/index.htm

  2. January 11, 2010 11:08 am

    Tiffany,
    What a fabulous picture. I love it!
    Your post on water reminded me of my New Year’s Resolution: to DRINK more of it. 8 glasses. every day.

    You are a marvel mother.

  3. Amber permalink
    January 11, 2010 7:21 pm

    I saw an exhibit of yurts at BYU long, long ago and was totally intrigued by them. I think complicated modern life just makes it seem romantic to me to be able to fit all your cargo in a wagon rather than a semi truck. When we moved last I was completely awestruck by the size of our moving truck. STUFF!

  4. January 11, 2010 8:14 pm

    Janelle: Okay, it’s decided. We’ll live next door to each other, you in your sod house, me in my yurt, with a giant organic veggie garden in between. And our wonderful husbands can spend their days doing their professorial things, complete with plumbing, etc. Sound good?

    Jenni: That is a GREAT New Year’s resolution. I’m adding that to my list.

    Amber: I know, that part of what intrigues me! Back to the basics, and away with all this junk! And an exhibit of yurts at BYU? Really?

Comments are closed.

