Skip to content

Sunshine spot

January 13, 2010

There were things to be done, of course. Laundry to fold, dishes to wash, an entire master bedroom in organizational upheaval, dinner to invent…but it was such a lovely, warm, winter day. (A term I will never use in Minnesota, to be sure.) So we shut the door on the litany of to-do’s, threw a blanket on the grass, and did some very important things. Like:

Eat leaves.

Read some good books. (And gnaw on a few, too.)

Pour sand.

And spend some quiet time with this sweet, easy-going boy before he got lost in the shuffle of after-school chaos.

When we finally went back inside, no house elf had come along to do my jobs. The tasks were still there, looming large, but with a little sunshine and still moments under my belt, I found a renewed energy to tackle the projects. Worth the pause indeed.

2 Comments
  1. January 13, 2010 11:59 am

    Beautiful! Although, now I feel a bit guilty for having my face buried in the computer while my 3yo is reading a book to himself right behind me; the same book he asked me to read to him a little while ago that I said I was too busy to do. Well, every minute is a new minute, eh? I love your blog!

  2. Amber permalink
    January 13, 2010 12:45 pm

    It was a fabulous afternoon, wasn’t it? I was so surprised by it when I emerged from my office to pick my girls up at school that we had to spend the afternoon at the park. The cold has had me really bottled up.

Comments are closed.

