Skip to content

Thoughts of Haiti

January 14, 2010

Baby Jackson and I on the beach in Miami

While I spent the day here with my little guys, my thoughts were on the news rolling in from Haiti. We have many dear friends from our day in Miami who  have relatives in Haiti and who can not get in touch with them. I wish I could hop on a plane right now and get in the action myself, if just to hold some of those kids on my lap and sing them songs. I read that the night of the earthquake everyone gathered in the streets (there was no electricity) and broke into hymns. That image brings such comfort in the wake of such disaster.

There are so many places to donate. One of those is LDS Humanitarian Servies, which already has supplies on-hand and has sent its first air-lift to Haiti already. There is no overhead (all workers are volunteer) so 100 percent of the profits go to helping in disaster relief. You can read an article about what the church is doing and donate here:

http://www.ldsphilanthropies.org/humanitarian-services/news-features/lds-haiti-2010a.html

My prayers are with them, as I’m sure yours are as well.

Tiffany

3 Comments
  1. Loni permalink
    January 15, 2010 10:47 pm

    Tiffany, I, too, am overwhelmed at the sorrow and suffering of the people in Haiti. Justin has been there twice and posted these awesome pictures on his blog…thought you might like a look at some beautiful people pre-earthquake. Here’s the link:
    http://justinhackworth.com/blog/

  2. January 21, 2010 11:29 am

    Hey Tiffany!
    I love checking in and seeing your beautiful family. Boys, boys! I love it! I also love to read your mormontimes column. We have been so sad for the Haiti thing and my 5 year old daughter was really upset about the whole thing. We decided to do a bake sale on facebook and raised 150$ to donate to the relief fund of the church. Anyway, it was a lot of fun and turned out to be a great thing for everyone in the family.

  3. January 21, 2010 10:48 pm

    Loni: I love Justin’s photographs. They really capture the spirit of those lovely people.

    Serena: That is amazing! Way to go. Your girls will never forget that. I think we might assemble hygiene kits for FHE, so the kids feel apart of the contribution. You’re such an awesome Mama!

Comments are closed.

