Skip to content

Musician hair

January 22, 2010

I was on my computer at the kitchen table the other day, working through some tasks, when I happened to glance into the sunroom at Jackson, practicing his daily piano (unsolicited!) and wearing this:

He was playing with such feeling, like those great, crazy-haired composers of old. I just sat and watched this kid, who has always marched (and played) to his own beat, and who has always had a penchant for things on his head. (Anyone remember the underwear and goggles at age two?)

I love this boy, who has such a unique way of looking at the world. He’s in the thick of reading Harry Potter for the first time (!), but every time I spy on him he’s jumping around from chapter to chapter in some crazy pattern. For a completely linear reader like myself, I can’t fathom absorbing a book in such a manner, but I learned long ago that this boy’s brain works in a unique and special way. And I love him so much.

I love him despite the fact that last week he somehow managed to lock our kitchen pantry. For one panicked evening Seth did not have access to his chips-n-salsa and cereal, but after trying every key in the house, he finally managed to get that door open.

Jackson, no matter the age (or the headgear), you are always a show stopper.

9 Comments
  1. Janelle permalink
    January 22, 2010 7:18 am

    Hilarious! Jackson seems like such a fun character.

  2. Loni permalink
    January 22, 2010 7:51 am

    You rock, Jackson!

  3. Alice-Anne permalink
    January 22, 2010 10:51 am

    a budding Mozart, for sure! πŸ™‚

  4. January 22, 2010 11:08 am

    What a crack-up! Looks like he’s an entertaining child to have around the house. I love it!

  5. January 22, 2010 3:51 pm

    Jackson IS fun to have around, and gets more fun the older he gets!

  6. January 22, 2010 5:39 pm

    What a CUTE boy!!! I wish i lived with him—he would make life so much more enjoyable! πŸ™‚ ha ha.
    I had to laugh about the chips and salsa thing…that is definitely a Lewis thing, since I have cereal every night and of course chips and salsa (what could be better!) πŸ™‚

  7. Jill Turner permalink
    January 22, 2010 6:45 pm

    Where did he find that dress in a house full of boys? I love it, and playing the piano too; priceless!

  8. jangee permalink
    January 26, 2010 5:28 pm

    AHHHHHHHHH I love Jackson.

  9. sara permalink
    January 27, 2010 4:45 am

    I remembere the goggles, I see he has evolved and expanded (green satin shirt??)… always original. He will keep you guessing. Bring him to Italy with you!

Comments are closed.