Skip to content

Tasty tidbits

February 2, 2010

What does one do with a pound of kale languishing in the fridge? Answer: one makes Zuppa Toscana. I’ve been a long-time fan of this soup, Olive-Garden-style, but was a bit nervous making it myself.

I shouldn’t have been so hesitant. The soup calls for Italian sausage and bacon, two no-fail ingredients–I could have dipped the vat in horseradish and it still would have tasted good.

I found a good recipe here, which I used as a launch pad, adding way more potatoes and bacon than it called for. And oh my, I must admit it was heavenly, perhaps the best thing I’ve ever made, perhaps better than the restaurant…no, definitely better than the restaurant.

This one earns a permanent spot in the recipe box.

In other food news, I’ve been hunting around for quite some time, looking for the perfect whole wheat waffle recipe. And I found it here.

The secret to their goodness is using King Arthur’s White Whole Wheat flour. Also, the recipe calls for five eggs, which makes them so delightfully chewy and cake-like.

Cake for breakfast? I’ll take it. Bon Appétit!

11 Comments
  1. Loni permalink
    February 2, 2010 10:10 pm

    Tiffany, the soup sounds and looks delicious; can you substitute spinach for the kale?

    • February 3, 2010 10:03 am

      Hmm, you could try it, but the nice thing about kale is that it doesn’t wilt as quickly as spinach. I love spinach in soup, but after a day it seems too slimy. With kale, this soup made a great leftover. But if you have success, let me know!

  2. Christa Yancy permalink
    February 2, 2010 10:15 pm

    That soup looks divine!! Sausage AND bacon in one dish? Bring it on, I say!! FWIW, I make a lentil soup w/kale that is really yummy, if you want another option I can send you the recipe. Also look up “kale chips” on allrecipes – they are really pretty good!

  3. Janelle permalink
    February 2, 2010 10:20 pm

    Ooooh, heavenly. I’ve had similar troubles with kale not being used, so I’ve found some yummy recipes too. Let me know if you want ’em! A steamed kale salad, an Asian rice dish, miso… but they don’t look nearly as appetizing as that soup.

  4. February 3, 2010 10:04 am

    Christa, Janelle: Of COURSE I want your recipes! Send ’em this way!

  5. Jill Turner permalink
    February 3, 2010 8:05 pm

    Ooh that soup looks delicious! Profressional really. I have never even had kale in my house. I guess I’ll have to try it; maybe I could even get my kids to eat it in a soup.

  6. February 4, 2010 9:27 am

    Love this, thanks for passing it along. Kale is SO good for you too. I am way excited!

  7. February 4, 2010 10:05 am

    Okay, I have been reading your blog for a bit–linked it from another somewhere. Blog stalkers make a me a little nervous, but I guess I am one.

    I just had to tell you that this soup recipe made my day! I had all the ingredients in my fridge, including the kale my 6-year-old picked out as his new vegetable of the week. So I made it. Yum, yum, yum!! Everyone in our family loved it, and that’s saying something. Awesome.

    • February 4, 2010 11:06 am

      Merinda–welcome! I’m a professional blog stalker myself, so make yourself at home.

      So glad the soup worked out. I think it will be my go-to winter soup from now on.

  8. February 4, 2010 3:22 pm

    Thanks! Here’s another soup my grandma used to make that has TONS of veggies in it, but with the 1/2 lb. of bacon added, it is super good: http://www.bigoven.com/83625-Farmers-Market-Soup-Stew-recipe.html. Love it. Not quite as much as the Zuppa, but a little more healthy anyway! 🙂

  9. Sheralie permalink
    February 5, 2010 8:51 pm

    Looks tasty. Maybe you will convert me over to kale. I wonder if they sell kale in the Philippines? It must be called something else here.

Comments are closed.

