Skip to content

Feeding this frenzy

February 4, 2010

And while we’re on the subject of food…

Most people have a fruit bowl in their kitchen. We have what I lovingly call The Fruit Ark:

It takes up half our kitchen. If there is ever a flood, we can launch this baby into the headwaters, taking our apples with us, two by two.

What is really amazing about this kitchen feature is that it will be nearly empty in just a few days. We are a family of six, plus one live-in little sister. We chew our way through a ton of food. And no matter how hard I try, I can not seem to keep stocked enough: bread, milk, cheese, yogurt, spinach, and fruit. We finish off a loaf of bread daily. (And when it’s homemade we go through two.) Milk is gone in two days. Keep in mind that my boys are 7, 6, 4, and 10 months, and one of those boys eats about 50 calories per day. (And it’s not the 10-month-old, who, at last count, ate more than me at dinner.)

I try and keep down the cost of the grocery bill slightly by using lots of cheaper-type filler: oatmeal, eggs, and potatoes. And the go-to snack is nearly always air-popped popcorn.

Still, what are we going to do when these boys hit puberty? I keep sliding pennies under the mattress in hopes of someday buying a family farm, but I have a feeling all that money is going right into the belly of my growing boys. Either that, or we need to invest in a cow, an orchard, and a cheese press.

And obviously, a larger fruit basket.

4 Comments
  1. February 4, 2010 9:30 am

    I totally feel your pain! It is wonderful but sometime overwhelming. I will go to the pantry or fridge thinking I had something for dinner… then before I know it is gone. Especially with fresh fruit or veggies, my kids are produce nuts! Have you had any issues with fruit flies? As soon as the temps warm up I can not keep fruit out on the counter or we get fruit flies like mad and I got a bit crazy tring to get rid of them
    !!!.

    • February 4, 2010 11:04 am

      Last year we had so many fruit flies I thought they’d lift up the house and fly us to South America.

      When the weather gets warm, I stick everything in the fridge, even the bananas. Now I just need a fridge large enough to accommodate the fruit basket.

  2. February 4, 2010 1:34 pm

    I feel the same way, although not as eloquently expressed!

  3. Sheralie permalink
    February 5, 2010 8:54 pm

    While we don’t have as many boys as you do, I have fed my teenage brothers. A 9×13 pan can feed a family of 6 or two teenage boys!

Comments are closed.

