Skip to content

Silly celebrations

February 7, 2010

I’m not sure if it’s the four-for-one special or the all-male dynamic in our household, but there is an abundance of silliness happening around these parts. Giggling and goofiness and jumping off every stick of furniture…Every few months it comes to a head, and we call all forces together for a Silly Celebration.

The idea behind the celebration is to take all that silliness and concentrate it into a single evening. Also, to show the kids that Mom and Dad like to have fun, when it is appropriate. We plan for it all week, and it’s a major motivation for good behavior in and out of school. Past celebrations have included dinner under the table and blowing-real-bubbles bubble gum tutorials.

There has been a definite buildup. It was high time for another release of the sillies.  Friday found us stuffed to the max with pillows for sumo wrestling, arm wrestling, and an ice cream dessert. And oh my, these boys are getting strong. No matter how many times I try to remind them that Mom is made of glass, they still shake me up pretty good. (Asher, by the way, was right in the thick of it, laughing so hard he nearly fell over backwards. Obviously another spirited one to join the fray in a few years.)

Whether these celebrations lead to any real changes day-to-day is up for debate, but we sure do have a good time. You’re never too old to be silly.

5 Comments
  1. Jill Turner permalink
    February 7, 2010 9:48 pm

    What fun! You are so wonderful to jump in with your boys and be creative; As usual, you are an inspiration to me!!!

  2. Loni permalink
    February 8, 2010 6:11 am

    Tiffany, you are such a great mom; truly inspiring and fun.

  3. Megan Werber permalink
    February 8, 2010 10:47 am

    What a great idea! This looks like lots of fun. I have to go plan a silly celebration now…

  4. Christa Yancy permalink
    February 8, 2010 11:25 am

    What FUN!!!!!!!!!!! I love it. We tend to be very silly over here, too, and I relish it because I know before to long the days of “M-o-o-o-o-m!!! You’re embarassing meeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!” will be on the horizon.

  5. Amber permalink
    February 9, 2010 2:31 pm

    I love it! There is nothing quite like the release I feel when I am silly and giggle with my siblings. And there are no other people on earth where I get that same satisfying belly laugh as with them. It’s great to build those connections.

Comments are closed.

