Skip to content

Pajama time

March 8, 2010

In my continuous effort to streamline around here, I made these pajama bags for the boys this weekend. I saw the idea awhile back in this book, and thought it was a cute, if maybe superfluous idea.

Well. That was before Seth began working 16-hour days on his dissertation (hence the lack of blogging around these parts) and I was left to put all four kiddos to bed. Every night the pajama drawer would explode onto the closet floor, no one could find matching tops and bottoms, etc, etc. The pajama bags were born.

Yes, they are decidedly floral. In surveying my fabrics, I realized I have a serious lack of masculine prints, but I still love the way they turned out. That middle print reminds me so much of my Grandma Gee.

To my great surprise, they have been a hit. Along with the pajamas, I slip a book or two in there each night and the kids get so excited to see what I’ve selected for them. It’s like literary Christmas every day!

The whole idea has got me so thrilledI’m brainstorming other areas of our life than can be so contained: individual church bags, outing-to-the-park bags…breakfast in a bag, here we come!

7 Comments
  1. Lisa Hightower permalink
    March 8, 2010 11:15 pm

    I love those bags, and I love the idea of slipping a book in for them that’s a surprise! I am also a big fan of containing things in bags and boxes to make it easier to grab-and-go. It’s like pre-portioning the cheese-it box on a larger scale! (Okay, so I’m always pre-portioning things for the mister’s lunch. But again, because I’m a fan of the grab-and-go).

    • March 9, 2010 4:19 pm

      Lisa–yes, we could all use a little more pre-portioning in our lives, couldn’t we?

  2. Christa permalink
    March 9, 2010 7:41 am

    Love it, Tiffany! I read once about a mom of 7 who had bags preloaded for everything – park, library, etc – and water bottles full and ready in the fridge, so it was easy to grab & go. Whatever makes life easier, I say!

  3. Dallin permalink
    March 9, 2010 7:52 am

    Brilliant!
    -Janelle

  4. Emily permalink
    March 9, 2010 12:59 pm

    I want to copy you but I might have to just use Wal-Mart bags until I can figure out how to get my sewing machine threaded….

    • March 9, 2010 4:21 pm

      Oh, don’t let that deter you! If I can learn to do it, anyone can. Truly. Do you have a manual to guide you?

  5. Vivienne Caudle permalink
    March 11, 2010 2:50 pm

    That is the coolest idea ever!!! I will have to recheck out that book again!

Comments are closed.

