Skip to content

Shifts in season

March 11, 2010
tags:

I don’t know if it’s fair to call it the arrival of anything when we don’t really have a winter to speak of, but yesterday certainly felt different. We have officially shifted into that small slot of springtime we get here in Austin. It is fleeting, but lovely. The trees are covered in white popcorn blossoms. In a few weeks the bluebonnets will begin emerging, followed by the Indian paintbrush, then the stifling heat of summer. But for now, we will enjoy these perfect days, pulling out the shorts and summer skirts and packing away the sweaters.

What I had forgotten about springtime was the smell. It is absolutely delicious. We sat under a tree at the park and I kept asking the boys, “Do you smell that?” They didn’t. Their noses are all stuffed up with colds, all four of them. So I just sat there by myself sniffing and feeling that warm breeze while Jackson built a home for the squirrels and Asher dug in the rocks and the other boys kicked up their heels on the swing.

Seth is off to Mexico for a quick conference. We boogied to “Mexico” by James Taylor in his honor. It will be good for him to take a tiny breather before plunging right back into his school work. I was a bit apprehensive about him leaving, but after a day of warmth and some Zuppa Toscana in the belly, I feel like we are finally out of that difficult funk our family has been in lately.

It’s a reminder to me that change, however slight, is always refreshing. Happy Spring!

4 Comments
  1. Jill Turner permalink
    March 11, 2010 9:46 am

    I am so jealous of your popcorn blossoms! It is definitely almost Spring here, but just not almost enough. I took the kids to the park the other day because I thought it was warm, but it turns out that I live in a wind tunnel, and it was actually quite cold with the wind blowing and no trees, buildings, or anything else to act as a wind breaker. My city gets blossoms a full two weeks after all the other cities in Utah County, but I guess I can wait just a little bit longer. I can’t wait for the first day that I can sit and smell Spring!

  2. Emily permalink
    March 11, 2010 1:14 pm

    I saw the title and I assumed that the post was about Underwear in Style. Get it? Shifts in season? Your foot in the photo also looks like an old woman’s face to me, with your heel as her puffy nose. I think I must not be getting enough sleep!

Comments are closed.

