Skip to content

In this moment: A manifesto

March 12, 2010

Tiffany’s Household Manifesto (posted on my fridge)

Because I care more about creative

than clean

I will be fine with play-do under the table

and stray pencil shavings.

Because I value learning

There will be books

everywhere:

Tucked in the car, the laundry basket,

in every room of the house.

Because I believe in the power

of play

I will allow for mud,

leaves, sticks

Blanket forts, kitchen concoctions,

mattresses sliding down the stairs.

Because I am raising scientists,

space explorers, readers, thinkers, writers,

men,

I will find joy in this snatch of time

when the days play out around me

in the chaotic manner of four children

Laughing, singing, jumping, communicating.

They are tangible, teachable, thoughtful.

We are together not creating mess,

But building life.

14 Comments
  1. Amber permalink
    March 12, 2010 6:58 am

    Love it.

  2. March 12, 2010 8:10 am

    beautiful.

  3. Vivienne Caudle permalink
    March 12, 2010 9:57 am

    awesome!!! do you mind if i put that up to remind me too? 🙂

  4. Christa Yancy permalink
    March 12, 2010 11:40 am

    I love that, Tiffany!!! Great perspective.

  5. Jill Turner permalink
    March 12, 2010 1:12 pm

    Can I borrow this? I love it, and everything in it is so true if you can just look at life that way. Thank you so much for sharing your talents!

  6. March 12, 2010 1:15 pm

    You all are lovely. Yes, use away. We all need a visual reminder, don’t we, of what really matters?

  7. March 12, 2010 2:55 pm

    Love your words and the colors in your photo!

  8. March 12, 2010 5:15 pm

    SO beautiful!
    Here’s my version for this week! I’d love for you to come take a peek! http://rth.typepad.com/reclaiming-the-home/2010/03/this-moment-via-soulemama.html

  9. Alice-Anne permalink
    March 12, 2010 5:39 pm

    couldn’t agree more…though, I probably wouldn’t have said it like you do!

  10. Aunt Carla permalink
    March 13, 2010 10:37 pm

    Beautiful, I hope you don’t mind if I share at school. Every Friday is poetry day at our school.

  11. March 13, 2010 11:39 pm

    You said it all so well!

  12. March 14, 2010 9:03 pm

    can i get an autographed copy of that someday when its published and your famous?

  13. Mikelle Lewis permalink
    March 15, 2010 10:35 am

    Seth is good about promoting you on facebook. I am good at blog-stalking. You are good at capturing life experiences in writing, as this lovely post proves once again. It is a delight to read anything you write. Thanks for this inspiring manifesto.

  14. March 20, 2010 8:26 am

    Amen!

Comments are closed.

