Skip to content

Soup love

March 22, 2010
tags: ,

Soup. I really love soup. So even though it is clearly spring, and time for salads and watermelon (or so my kids tell me) I want to talk about soup.

I make a lot of soup around here. Warm weather does not deter me. I have been known to cook soup when it is 102 degrees outside. This is reason #64 why we will be just fine in Minnesota next year. Because it will not be 102 degrees, it will be -102 degrees. Which I hear is good soup weather too.

Some of my favorite soups are: butternut squash soup (which I eat all by my lonesome. I am the only squash lover in this family. Even Asher hates squash–have you ever heard of such a thing in an almost-one-year-old?), potato soup, broccoli soup. the ever-present Zuppa Toscana, my Italian Flag Soup (cook up cheese tortellini in chicken broth, add a can of petite diced tomatoes and a bag of spinach to wilt and you’re done!), and bean soup, done ten different ways in the crockpot. Soup! It cooks itself. With a hunk of homemade bread it is really the perfect meal. Even in  August.

Lately we have been hit with a slurry of springtime colds, which means I’ve been making a lot of chicken noodle soup. At our roommate reunion back in December my friend Lindsay’s husband made this soup with homemade noodles. I think I ate ten bowls. And thereby determined that I must make it myself.

It all begins with a humble little organic chicken (usually frozen solid, because I forgot to thaw it), which I stick in the crockpot the night before and cover with water.

The following day I remove the chicken and let it cool before deboning it. I like this recipe for the noodles, except I substitute one cup of semolina flour for the white flour. It’s taken me four tries to get the noodles just right, and the key is using tons of flour to keep the noodles from sticking to your surface while rolling and cutting.

Then it’s just a matter of throwing all the  veggies in the boiling chicken stock until they are soft, adding the noodles, and finally the shredded chicken. Like the above recipe, I add some Herb Ox for flavor (it’s MSG-free).

No matter how much of this I make, it is always gone the first night, although it makes a great leftover too, if you manage to hold on to any.

Springtime soup.  Just right for those last few chilly evenings. Eat up!

3 Comments
  1. John Gholdston permalink
    March 23, 2010 9:51 am

    I grew up refusing to eat any soup but tomato, for some reason. I didn’t (still don’t) care much for tomatoes in their natural state, but I love the soup. As my palate developed, so did my appreciation for soup. Your piece has me salivating!

  2. Megan Werber permalink
    March 23, 2010 3:19 pm

    I am a huge soup lover myself. In fact, after reading this early this morning, I decided I needed to make some homemade chicken noodle soup. I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather lately and that was just what I needed. I just finished my first bowl, and I could seriously eat about 5 more… but I really should save some for the rest of the family.

    Butternut squash soup sounds delicious, but I’m sure I too would be the only one in my family who would like it. It’s crazy that a husband and5 kids who will eat almost anything don’t like something as delicious as squash!

  3. Jill Turner permalink
    March 24, 2010 10:09 am

    I am going to try the homemade noodles. Your soup sounds so delicious. I also love to make soup in the summer. It is so easy, and the whole house doesn’t get heated up while it’s cooking, though I do suffer some anxiety since making soup in the summer is clearly like wearing no socks in the winter, but I do it anyway because I like it!

Comments are closed.

