Skip to content

This moment: the other side

March 26, 2010


THE OTHER SIDE

The sound of boys
From
Another room

Is a zoom
Or a boom

A rap-tap-tap
Mighty whap

There’s a thump
Oh, such a bump!
As they jump

From the couch
They crouch

And spring
What is that thing
Called boy?

Such a joy
A mighty rumpus
As they jump

Us?
We listen
To that crash
Then smash

Collision with precision
And sound
On the rebound

Hearing
And fearing

What I might see
What might befall
On the other side
Of that thin
Wall.

5 Comments
  1. Loni permalink
    March 26, 2010 7:20 am

    Ah, once again, such great writing. And, feelings I totally understand.

  2. Meredith Williams permalink
    March 26, 2010 8:16 am

    Love it Tiffany!!

  3. March 26, 2010 1:25 pm

    The sounds of motherhood!

  4. March 26, 2010 4:45 pm

    I love this poem!

  5. Christy permalink
    April 5, 2010 8:44 pm

    True to life. I don’t listen to as much music as I used to, because of all the boy sounds that fill my days (and because of the need to hear those sounds to make sure no one is in dire trouble). Did I tell you we’re only six months away from number four? And somehow, reading this, I know that if I end up with another addition to my houseful of boys, I will be happy. Thanks!

Comments are closed.

