Skip to content

The dis

April 1, 2010

Dear Dissertation,

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

The way you usurp my husband for 15 hours a day, six days a week. It just melts my heart.

You make my husband so happy. He sings your praises in his sleep. Oh wait, he doesn’t get much of that. You are all consuming, the house guest that lingers past Christmas and eats all the food in the fridge. Oh, but we don’t hold it against you. Stick around a while. Pull up a chair. You are our friend. Just ask the children, who think they saw a glimpse of their father…last week. They say your name with reverence, cross stitch it into their pillows. Dissertation, dissertation, dissertation.

Never part from us. If my husband can’t be at my side, then by golly, you can. For life. That nebulous cluster of ideas just waiting to be splashed across the page.

This is true love, I tell you.

And also, April Fool’s.

Love,

Tiffany

P.S. We celebrated the day with cinnamon/salt toast and whoopie cushions, per tradition. What tricks did you play on this undervalued holiday?

3 Comments
  1. Meredith permalink
    April 1, 2010 11:12 pm

    Ha ha! I’m surprised the dissertation is not a swear word in your house by now……or maybe it is. I just hope you get rewarded after it’s done because you most definitely deserve it.

  2. April 2, 2010 7:08 pm

    Clever! Glad you can laugh a little despite all the stress! Thinking of you guys!

  3. April 6, 2010 4:01 pm

    Dear Tiffany,

    Your husband is banging his head against the wall because of me, but … well … let’s just say I have that kind of effect on people.

    Cheers,

    The Dissertation

Comments are closed.

