Skip to content

Kat’s creation

April 8, 2010

I love living with this sister of mine. She wears many hats. She’s the Kat in the hat(s). (Okay, I’ll stop.) But it’s true. Every Monday morning she waltzes out the door carrying a large leather suitcase, assorted costumes, and a guitar, and looking very much like Maria Von Trapp. She teaches storytelling and drama at a homeschooling academy in Dripping Springs. She is beloved. They want to hire her full time. Except…

The rest of the week she deliveries scrumptious cookies for a company whose motto it is to make people happy. And she does.

That would be enough work for any woman, but not a woman like my sister. Because she also teaches a playwriting class at our high school four days a week. (My brother also teaches choir there full-time. They will never, ever get rid of us.)

And she is directing a play. A play that she wrote. It premieres this week and it’s called “The Window.” She first told me the premise of this play on a very long walk around the suburbs of Prune Hill, Washington three days before I got married. This was nine and a half years ago, which means this play has been germinating a long time. In the interim, I am sure she has written more than a hundred additional plays, and premiered at least fifteen of them. If I ever make it in the publishing world, it will be by riding the coattails of my sister Katherine.

Living with Kat is like having the backstage of theater production brought right into our home. Last week we had a long discussion on edible flowers, which she needed as a prop for her show. When she wanted to see if her “glass” heart prop would shatter, the whole family watched her throw it to the ground on the back porch. She tells fantastic bedtime stories. This is all to say we are packing her along with us to Minnesota, guitar and all. None of us will know what to do without her.

This play, “The Window” has evolved a great deal since that time on Prune Hill. She (sadly) cut out the song that began: “I am/married to/a white elephant/colored blue./He is an alli-ga-a-tor…” and so on. The play has matured, and so has she. But it is still phenomenal, stunning, and wildly creative. As is my sister.

Good show Kat!

5 Comments
  1. Meredith permalink
    April 8, 2010 9:31 pm

    Katherine is simply amazing. I wish I could have seen the show! Congrats Kat

  2. Jenni permalink
    April 8, 2010 10:31 pm

    What great photos…. and a wonderful tribute to your sis. I can only imagine that the play was spectacular…just a stepping stone to bigger venues and world-wide acclaim.

  3. Loni permalink
    April 9, 2010 8:01 am

    Boy, what amazingly talented women inhabit that Texas household!

  4. April 9, 2010 8:22 pm

    What a girl! Wish we were there to enjoy the show, too!

  5. April 10, 2010 3:01 pm

    Just loved the show -I saw it Thursday. I really liked reading this post and learning all that is going on with her now. Looking at the pictures I think, she’s so beautiful. And reading about her many “hats” I think -and she has a beautiful personality!

Comments are closed.

