Skip to content

That secret ingredient

April 28, 2010
tags: ,

Someday I will write a book entitled “The Secret Ingredients for Raising Children.” Number one on that ingredient list will be value-based religion, second will be a copious amount of books, but coming in as a close third: mud. We start ’em young around here. I just can’t help it. I take them outside and say, “No, no, don’t head for that mud pile,” but I don’t really mean it. How can I? I know the feeling of mud between the toes and dirt under the fingernails. This is nearly all the reason why I garden. Dirt and I have a special relationship.

So yes, we are a family of messes, big ones. Surely this is how Jackson Pollock got his start?

3 Comments
  1. Jill permalink
    April 28, 2010 2:32 pm

    I definitely agree! I used to love to play in the mud as a kid, though not so much anymore, but gardening is so satisfying. And with so many boys around, playing and digging in the dirt/ musd are almost daily occurences when the days are warm. Lucas actually took a mud bath last year in our back yard. He was covered from head to toe; the bath water was disgusting! But he had so much fun!

  2. Jenni Fisher permalink
    April 28, 2010 8:58 pm

    can’t wait for your book Tiffany….

  3. May 1, 2010 2:21 am

    We will join in for the chorus, “Mud, Mud, I like mud!” An essential ingredient for happy and healthy children, I do believe.

Comments are closed.

