Skip to content

First day

September 8, 2010

It was the first day of school here, for everyone, Professor Lewis included.

They eased him right into things. He’s teaching Intro to Comms Theory to 180 freshman. Eek!

He handled is swimmingly, of course.

Jackson and Addison were up at 6 a.m., even though school doesn’t start until 9:20. Those first-day jitters, you know. We had so much time I fed them breakfast twice, first eggs, then a few hours later, pancakes. Then we cleaned the house. And practiced the piano. We probably could have run to a store or two, my goodness we had so much time. But finally it was time for school.

Jackets on the first day of school! Crazy, eh?

And then poof, they were gone, and the school year had begun, and my little guys and I just stared at each other in all that silence that happens when you go from four boys down to two. And then we played and sang and read and made cookies and folded stacks and stacks of laundry.

And went out for ice cream to celebrate. Wearing jackets, of course.

9 Comments
  1. September 8, 2010 9:28 am

    So fun to see the boys go off to school — even your big boy! But it makes me miss you guys more – I know you’re having a great new adventure, but we sure miss you here! xoxo

    • September 8, 2010 9:35 am

      Thanks. We miss you too–hopefully we’ll make it back to Texas next spring for a visit!

  2. Loni permalink
    September 8, 2010 2:08 pm

    Tiffany, you are such a great mom….what fun memories you make for your boys.

  3. Jen permalink
    September 8, 2010 2:22 pm

    Tiffany, it’s Jen Swenson (Jill Swenson’s sister-in-law). I stumbled across your blog a while ago, but I can’t remember how I found it! Anyway, where in the Twin Cities did you guys wind up? We are here in St. Anthony Park, on the outskirts of St. Paul, just two blocks from the fairgrounds. It would be fun to catch up with you sometime. Maybe a local park before the weather gets too cold??

    • September 8, 2010 3:25 pm

      Hey Jen, I was just thinking about you the other day, wondering if you made it here too! We’re in Woodbury, east of St. Paul. Yes, let’s meet up. My email is tiffanyelewis@gmail.com. Contact me and we’ll plan something soon!

  4. Natalie Scott permalink
    September 8, 2010 3:14 pm

    Tiffany, we miss you! And I’m SO jealous of the jackets…:)

    Congratulations to the professor as well, on his first day on the job. Yay!

    • September 8, 2010 3:27 pm

      Thanks Natalie! I miss you too! But I have to admit: I love the jackets too! Sweaters, soup, hot cocoa. It’s a fun time of year..but I know it won’t last long! I hope the school year is going well for your fam!

  5. Christa permalink
    September 9, 2010 1:20 pm

    Wow, school doesn’t start until 9:20????? I’m green with envy!!! Green about the jackets, too. We are still sweltering here in ATX! Looks like you all are doing great!!!

  6. September 10, 2010 7:07 pm

    How exciting for you all! Congrats to you all and Seth in particular on the new gig – very impressive! Glad to see your updates again and see you’re settling in so well. XOXO

Comments are closed.

