Skip to content

Our trees: an introduction

September 23, 2010

When we went house hunting back in May, there was a certain ritual we followed. We walked into a prospective house and Seth went to check if there was a master bathroom. I headed straight for the backyard.

“No trees,” I’d say. “I don’t want it.”

So it’s only fitting that our new home has 32 trees on the lot. It’s not the farm I was hoping for, but the trees do help. (And it has a master bathroom, so Seth and I are both content.)

I already have my favorites, like the large river birch that shades most of the yard. But the greatest gift is our very own mature apple tree. His name is Huckleby. And he is a lovely tree.

Thus far he has gifted us with many apples. He’s getting a bit crowded out and needs some TLC, so the apples are pretty high up. And a bit wormy.

But perfect for making applesauce. (Who needs toys when you have a Victorio strainer?)

It wasn’t until my sister Katherine came to visit that we got another surprise. She was in the backyard saying goodbye to the trees. (See, it’s a family thing.) She came running in and said, “Do you know you have another apple tree?”

Like the children, when you have so many trees, it’s difficult to keep track.

Our second apple tree, who has yet to receive a proper name, has been completely crowded out, but he had some excellent apples about 25 feet up, and oh yes, I picked all of them, risking my life to get-that-very-last-one.

And we made even more applesauce.

3 Comments
  1. September 23, 2010 8:06 am

    sounds heavenly! we miss you

  2. Amber permalink
    September 23, 2010 8:37 am

    I am so thrilled for you and also for your trees to have such a gracious and attentive owner. A match made in heaven! I love trees.

  3. Melinda permalink
    September 23, 2010 10:02 am

    32 trees?!?! That is awesome!!!! Your apron is cute.

Comments are closed.

