Skip to content

Hoarding

October 8, 2010
tags:

We’ve had a fair bit of rain around here lately.

I can’t seem to find a single umbrella in the house, not one.

Then I go to clean out Seth’s car, and find not one or two umbrellas, but five! Every umbrella we own, and some we probably don’t.

I love cleaning out Seth’s car. I once found a black wig and a razor-toothed saw, all nestled together like friends in the backseat. If Seth weren’t the most pure-in-heart person I know, I would have been very, very worried.

I love cleaning out my purse. I can’t locate a single pen in this house, only pencils with all the lead pulled out. I am a writer with no writing utensil. All those brilliant vibes from my resident muse are lost, scattering to the wind to go light upon some other writer who keeps a jar of black Uniballs on hand at all times.

Then I clean out my purse, and lo and behold, fifteen pens.

What do you hoard?

One Comment
  1. Allison Harkness permalink
    October 8, 2010 10:57 am

    Jim is a pen stealer. We have two pens that I love. One says, “This pen once belonged to The Stoughton Traveling Nurses” (from the hospital). The other says, “This pen once belonged to Village Pizza House in Brookline.” (from the place where we ordered pizza on our last night in Boston – sigh.) I blame Jim for our surplus of pens, but I think I’m the one that inadvertently kept the pizza pen!

Comments are closed.

