Skip to content

Food fit for a queen

October 11, 2010

Each night after dinner and baths and scripture reading and teeth cleaning we gather on my bed for our nighttime story.

Reading aloud to my kids is one of my greatest pleasures as a mother. We’ve worked our way through Laura Ingalls Wilder, a few Roald Dahl, and A.A. Milne.

I decided my kids were ready to enter the world of Narnia. It was more emotional than I expected. Of course my kids don’t understand the symbolism yet, but when that mighty stone table cracked and Aslan stood with his golden mane, I was in tears. C.S. Lewis, you are truly the man.

We just finished the last pages. To celebrate our journey, we did something I’ve wanted to do my entire life. We made Turkish delight, a glorious pile of sticky sweetness that enchanted Edmund in the book and my children at the table.

 

Now on to the next delicious read.

9 Comments
  1. Natalie Scott permalink
    October 12, 2010 4:05 pm

    I love it, Tiffany! The Narnia books were read to me as a girl, and I’ve read them to my boys, I’m on the Silver Chair with my second son right now. I’m happy to know I’m not the only one who got emotional the first time I read them to my kids. I also got emotional when we saw the newer movie version in the theater. I know how you feel about TV/movies, but it’s so much fun, and didn’t ruin the books for us…this time. 🙂

    Happy reading!

  2. Natalie Scott permalink
    October 12, 2010 4:08 pm

    p.s. what recipe did you use? I’d never thought to try making turkish delight. What a fabulous idea!

    • October 12, 2010 6:14 pm

      Hey Natalie! Oh, the Narnia movie is one of my favorite. I think Jackson and I are going to have a special date one of these nights and watch it together.

      I got the Turkish delight recipe from a book that I highly recommend: “The River Cottage Family Cookbook.” I use that book every day. However, it was a fair bit of work, because I made it from scratch. I think there’s an easier version you can try using unflavored gelatin. It was a fun adventure.

      I hope you all are well!

  3. Loni permalink
    October 13, 2010 8:36 am

    Tifffany, just finished reading a book that just knocked my socks off, but I don’t wear socks; it’s a great, inspirational book…Same Kind of Different As Me. And, it takes place in Texas. And, it’s a true story of true Christians. I think you would like it. (It’s not one to read to your kids just yet, but it’s great for After you have tucked the little ones into bed.)

  4. October 14, 2010 1:51 pm

    Hey Tiffany! I just started a blog of my own and then I remembered you have a blog! So I subscribed to get an email every week! I wish I could talk to you more! Your blog is super cute!!!! I got my own blog to play music when you go in, I’m gonna change the music tho because I don’t like it. I’ll call you when I can. Bye!!!!

    • October 14, 2010 8:20 pm

      Hey Gabby! So fun to hear from you. I love your blog too. I can’t wait to show the kids all the cute pictures of Elliott. Give him kisses from Aunt Tiffany!

  5. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    October 18, 2010 11:15 am

    You’re a super Mommy!

  6. October 18, 2010 7:43 pm

    Love it! We have bought Turkish Delight in the past, but making it sounds like a fun adventure. Our boys love these books too. I hope Minnesota is treating you well. Do you have a big sweater stockpile for the winter?

Comments are closed.

