Skip to content

Fall summation

October 29, 2010
tags:

Wading in the Mississippi

The color and vibrancy are all gone now. We got our first deep freeze last night, and winter is officially upon us. But I will continue to seal up in my mind the beauty and warmth that was our first fall in Minnesota. Preston loved the red trees, Addison loved the orange ones, and I proclaimed nearly every tree I saw The Most Beautiful Tree in All the World.

Now the leaves are all raked and bagged and stashed behind the house for spring’s compost.  We finally tucked away the shorts and pulled out the long underwear and heavy winter jackets. For a new season. With an entirely new set of adventures for our family.

4 Comments
  1. October 29, 2010 10:45 am

    I love the pictures! The colors around here are amazing right now. We’ve had late seasons this year and it’s only within the last week that the color has really exploded. I’ve been pressing some leaves to make things with and now I want to gather every pretty leaf that I see in order to preserve its splendor. Not very practical, so I guess I’ll just have to enjoy the moment and preserve its memory. Fall, is probably my favorite season. Thanks for the pictures! I wish our leaves were dry enough to jump in!

  2. October 29, 2010 1:49 pm

    Gorgeous color!! That’s one thing I do miss about being in Austin — no fall color here. Can’t wait to hear about your Minnesota winter – -it will take me back to my childhood without actually having to deal with the cold!!

  3. Loni permalink
    November 2, 2010 1:34 am

    What great pictures….you captured the beauty of the fall.

  4. Rachel permalink
    November 3, 2010 10:10 am

    Stunning!!! I know the season I want to visit in!!!! As long as you have BYU football on in the background that is (he he).

Comments are closed.

