Skip to content

It begins

November 16, 2010
tags: ,

I returned home on Saturday from a lovely week in Austin and a very long layover in Chicago because Minnesota was in a tizzy over the weather. This kind of weather:

The first snow! The first dump, I should say. The entire landscape is transformed. Suddenly it’s the North Pole all around, and the entire family is giddy. I haven’t seen my kids in two days.

I know I should feel trepidation. We won’t see our grass again until, say, April. From the tales I’ve heard, we’ve moved to Narnia under the reign of the White Witch, where it is always winter and never (except for one day) Christmas. Yet while I know February is on the horizon, what I see now is so lovely: mounds and mounds of snow for sledding and building and throwing and tasting.

Welcome, Winter!

3 Comments
  1. Rachel permalink
    November 17, 2010 3:28 pm

    Oh Tiff…..
    So good to see you last week!!!
    But you’ve got to tell Jackson that Austin rain boots are NOT equipped for MN snow!!!

    • November 17, 2010 5:23 pm

      Ha! I know. Can you tell Dad was in charge that day? 🙂 Miss you guys already!

  2. Sarah permalink
    November 17, 2010 11:25 pm

    Awesome pictures!! Also, I’d like to have that rainbow striped scarf. I will send you an ugly thrifted one for your snowman, and you send me the pretty one, ok?

Comments are closed.

