Skip to content

That other holiday

November 17, 2010

I know, I know, we are two weeks past Halloween. We are already on to thoughts of pumpkin pie and gravy. But since I spent the better part of a week gearing up for Halloween, and the better part of two weeks recovering from said holiday, it just has to be recorded. You mothers understand. Thanks for the indulgence:

This was a very serious crew, as you can see. Soldiers do not smile. General George Washington does not smile in any of his paintings, so ours wouldn’t either. Ron Weasley was too busy fighting Draco. And our resident bumblebee was much too busy stealing candy from his brothers’ buckets. A sobering crowd indeed.

Favorite Halloween quote: “Mom, everyone thinks I’m a pirate. I’m not. I’m General George Washington!” (Note again the non-smile.) This jacket just might be my opus magnum, as Halloween costumes are wont to be. (If you’re wondering, he did a last-minute switcheroo from Old Faithful to the father of our country. I think Old Faithful might have been easier.)

My sewing machine wanted nothing to do with this best-Sunday-suit (eek!) transformation, so my friends, this entire outfit was constructed with hot glue. I know. I was pretty impressed myself.

And here is one more image of my decidedly-not-homemade bumblebee. Look at that belly! How could I not allow a belly like that to be filled with fifteen lollipops?

Okay, I’m done now. On to Thanksgiving. Thanks for your patience…

4 Comments
  1. Amber permalink
    November 17, 2010 11:48 am

    So cute! I bow down before your craftiness!

    It was fantastic to see you last week.

  2. Meredith permalink
    November 18, 2010 8:53 am

    That Washington jacket is awesome! When I saw first on Seth’s facebook I was blown away. I can’t believe you made that….well actually I can believe it 🙂

  3. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    November 18, 2010 5:15 pm

    I had envisioned you spending hours at the sewing machine on that George Washington jacket, but instead, you probably spent hours hot gluing it! Whew! What a project! Loved those serious pictures, and Asher…with the lollipops, so cute!

Comments are closed.

