Skip to content

Ten years

December 27, 2010

photo by Justin Hackworth

Ten years ago today two little kids got married. In the LDS Temple in Portland, Oregon. The sun was shining. There was so much family love: grandparents (almost all who have passed away now), parents, aunts, uncles, cousins, and siblings. It was a surreal, powerful, and perfect day. Probably the most perfect day of my entire life.

I was terrified. Jittery in my three-inch satin heels. But I knew as long as I stuck with the guy by my side, everything would be all right.

That is how it was, and that is how it has been. Whenever things get off-kilter, chaotic, frustrating, I come back to this: this union (in our faith we call it a sealing) forged in our temple, ordained by heaven.

Ten years. So many moves, so many years of schooling. Four of the spunkiest kids on God’s green Earth.

Jackson said yesterday, “Ten years and four boys. Let’s see, if you do the math, then by 2020 you’ll have eight boys! And by 2040 you’ll have sixteen boys.”

Well…we’ll see. But with the surprises that have come our way the past ten years, perhaps anything is possible.

Love you, Seth. Thanks for sticking with me.

8 Comments
  1. John Gholdston permalink
    December 27, 2010 12:39 pm

    Raucous congratulations! You guys seem to have a storybook life which, I know, takes much attention, love and dedication. I’m so happy for you!.

    Gholdston

    • December 27, 2010 2:15 pm

      Thanks Gholdston. To think, it all began in YOUR CLASS! We owe everything to that small, oval-shaped table and the excellent teacher who sat at the head.

      Hope you had a nice Christmas. –T

  2. December 27, 2010 2:11 pm

    Congratulations!! Here’s wishes for a zillion more happy years together. (miss you guys!)

    • December 27, 2010 2:16 pm

      Thanks Jan! We miss you guys too. Although it’s almost 30 degrees here today–downright balmy. An anniversary treat!

  3. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    December 27, 2010 5:37 pm

    We’ve been thinking of you two today. Ten years! Hard to believe. Many marvelous events have happened in those ten years. We love you! Surely glad you both made that perfect decision 10 years ago.

  4. Meredith Williams permalink
    December 27, 2010 11:12 pm

    Holy Smokes! 10 years! I wish I was there to watch your boys so you and Seth could go out and have a relaxing day. Hope you guys had a wonderful day! We are so glad you are part of the Lewis fam!

  5. Janice permalink
    December 29, 2010 12:41 pm

    Tiffany. Seth. Love u guys. Proud of u. Congratulations! Mom

  6. December 30, 2010 12:48 pm

    I found your blog and I love it!!! So fun to catch up with your adorable family. 🙂 Can’t believe you left Austin…lol Feel free to check out my blogs, too. Although, I haven’t updated it since October. I think I have a lot of catching up to do.

Comments are closed.

