Skip to content

New corners 2011–Part 1

January 4, 2011

It’s a roasty, toasty -4 today. I went to get the mail and my nose hairs froze. Preston said, “I don’t like the winter.” Addison said, “Mom, do you miss summer?” I got the car washed and all the water droplets just froze in place on the windows.

In times such as these there is only one thing to do, and that is talk about the mud room.

I spent hours this summer standing in my mudroom, strategizing the winter scene. I laid out a careful plan for boots, coats, hats, gloves, and scarves.

Well, it only took two days of winter to realize a)my mudroom is about five sizes too small and b)I set it up all wrong.

We endured a few months of jumbled hats, mismatched mittens, and an overwhelmed coat rack that gave up and fell out of the wall.

Once the Christmas tree was out the door I finally ventured into the mudroom again to reorganize and revamp.Despite the confined space, I think we finally have a system that works, at least until I take a sledgehammer to one of the walls and invade the office.

Bins for all the boots, which track in cinders and all that lovely road salt.

Slide-out drawers for the littles, baskets for the biggers. If I were more crafty, I would have hand-stamped those labels or knitted them out of wool from an angora goat. But. I was just proud of myself for using ribbon to fasten and not, say, old shoelaces.

Mostly, it’s nice to see the floor again.

7 Comments
  1. Alice-Anne permalink
    January 4, 2011 5:39 pm

    I can’t wait for the day when I have a mudroom! Love what you’ve done with it!

  2. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    January 4, 2011 6:32 pm

    I love your organization! Well done! It inspires me.

  3. January 5, 2011 2:31 pm

    Beautiful!

  4. January 5, 2011 3:13 pm

    I still can’t believe all that snow. I ought not to complain at all. Love the organization! It sure helps to have a place for everything, especially in cute baskets.

  5. Tricia permalink
    January 6, 2011 10:06 pm

    I read your article “What you don’t see” and loved it. In fact, I read it three times. I almost didn’t come look at your blog because I hate blogs that are covered in crafts and amazing recipes that I’ll never take the time to make. I clicked on your blog anyway and I’m so glad I did. I’m a mom of (almost) 3 girls. I relate to so much of what you have posted! I loved it. I just wanted to say thanks for reminding me that being a mom is what is important!

    • January 6, 2011 11:10 pm

      Tricia, thank you for your kind comments! I’m so glad you came by for a visit to the blog. I’m glad to know it inspired good things. All the best to you and your girls!

  6. Rachel permalink
    January 9, 2011 8:48 pm

    Tiff~
    You know how proud you make me when I read posts like this.
    What lovely ideas and implementation.
    I can only image trying to keep 5 boys organized!!!
    Good luck with that 🙂

Comments are closed.

