Skip to content

New corners 2011–Part 2

January 7, 2011

Here they are at long last: The Pillows.

I taught myself to sew (with some hand-holding from my amazing sister-in-law Havilah) two summers ago. I have since discovered that I sew much the same way I cook, and for that matter, parent. I skim a few books, get a general idea how things should go, and just forge ahead, often with disastrous results.

These pillows were doomed from the beginning. I have never quilted, but wanted to try my hand at log cabin piecing. So I cut out all the pieces with great zeal, only to realize I did it all wrong. And had to recut. And pick apart an entire pillow. It took me another month just to finish quilting the fronts. I backed and stuffed them the day before my family arrived for Thanksgiving, then called Havilah in a panic.

“How do I sew up the opening? Should I just hot glue it together?”

“No!” she cried. “Not after all the work you’ve put into them.” So I hand-stitched the openings and tossed them on the couch. The entire family cheered.

“Yeah, Mom’s pillows are done!” (We can finally eat at the table again.)

I was so exhausted from the endeavor, I hid my sewing machine deep in the basement and declared I was done with sewing.

But when I woke up in the morning and came downstairs, the first thing to greet me were those bright, happy pillows. Red and blue are my favorite color combo, and I chose bright because so much of our landscape around here is white, white, white. And those pillows just boost my spirits every time I look at them. Or pick them up, which is often, even though Seth keeps saying, “Don’t touch Mom’s pillows! Don’t even breathe on Mom’s pillows.”

I would definitely do things a bit differently next time. Rounding out those corners comes to mind. But still, I am pleased with these pillows of mine.

They look especially fine when accompanied by a sedentary toddler, don’t you think?

So even though I said I would never sew again, not ever, there’s this shower curtain idea I’ve been wanting to try…

13 Comments
  1. Christa permalink
    January 7, 2011 7:47 am

    Tiffany, those are just gorgeous!! You should be very proud!!!

  2. Amber permalink
    January 7, 2011 7:58 am

    They are beautiful! I love them crazy much! And I love personal touches like that around the house. I’m not overly crafty, but I try to make a few things to have around so they’ll be sentimental for my girls when I’ve kicked the bucket. Legacy building and stuff 🙂

  3. January 7, 2011 9:29 am

    I love them, Tiffany! Brilliant. And I feel the same about sewing; I can think of three unfinished projects in my closet, and yet I have lofty creations looming in my head?! Sewing usually makes me want to curse.

  4. January 7, 2011 10:09 am

    love them! you did a fabulous job. i was all sewing inspired in 2009 and then took almost all of 2010 off (i did sew & bedazzle a cape for lucy’s hallowen costume…). i’d love to get back to it this year. quilting is one of those things i’m dying to learn!

  5. Meredith permalink
    January 7, 2011 1:30 pm

    Those are so pretty Tiffany! I love the colors!! By the look of your pillows, you are way too good at sewing to quit!

  6. January 7, 2011 4:01 pm

    Those are so pretty! I love them and the perky corners are great! I’ve started quilting this year and while my creations have been far from perfect, I have realized I really enjoy sewing!

  7. January 7, 2011 5:00 pm

    Red and blue eh? See the lifelong impact of GS?!

  8. January 7, 2011 5:17 pm

    You all are so nice. I’ll sew more often just to get compliments like these!

    Zeyna,you’re right! I never realized. Teen brainwashing at its finest.

  9. Terry Arvidson permalink
    January 7, 2011 5:32 pm

    Way excellent Tiffany! I would have tried to hot glue the openings and they would have been nowhere as nice as yours. But they would have had that neat stringy stuff that spews out of hot glue joints when you’re not careful. Also, I appreciate your diligence in keeping your blog updated. I read it regularly and love it!

  10. January 7, 2011 7:20 pm

    DANG TIFFANY. You put my sewing to SHAME big time! (i pretend like i had any skills in the first place! 🙂 Those pillows are amazing! You are a total Rockstar! So IMPRESSED.

  11. Rachel permalink
    January 9, 2011 8:51 pm

    Love them….
    I love the colors as well….
    What a way to brighten up the WHITE landscape for the next 5 months 🙂

  12. January 12, 2011 1:50 pm

    I’m so sorry to comment about something else here, but I can’t figure out how to do it at Mormon Times! I just want to say I loved your article about having overflowing pockets. The analogy of pockets to time is a lovely one, and I think I will always visualize it that way now. 🙂 I have been reading your writing for a long time, and this was one of my favorites ever. I always relate to you because I had four boys (then a girl), and because you seem like someone I would be good friends with. 🙂
    So anyway, I would love to know how you are doing the writing contest with your sister. . . .
    P.S. Gorgeous pillows, btw!

  13. Jill Turner permalink
    January 12, 2011 8:30 pm

    Gorgeous! For one who forges ahead, you sure do get fantastic results!!! I love the bright colors.

Comments are closed.

