Skip to content

The stay of January

January 17, 2011

So, January in Minnesota. Asher is asleep upstairs. The boys are playing in the basement. It’s snowing outside, and I am watching it accumulate in little hills on the fencepost outside.

I’ve found I don’t go outside much these days. I’ve been doing some writing, some organizing, and a whole lot of hibernating.

Last Wednesday Preston went to play outside with his little neighbor friend Ella. Asher saw them go out and tried to follow in his stockinged feet. When I stopped him, he collapsed in a sobbing heap on the floor.

It was toddler-speak for, “Mom, I have been stuck in this house for three weeks. I need to see the sky, feel the cool wind on my face, know that there is a living, breathing world outside these walls.” Or maybe it was my heart that said this.

In any case, we bundled up and I pulled him in his little sled down to the frozen lake. Actually, if you hadn’t seen it in summer, you wouldn’t know it was a lake at all, just a flat expanse of snow. The sky snapped bright blue. It was quiet. And very cold. We walked up and down the path until our faces went numb, then we turned around and walked home.

And it was just what we both needed, on a Wednesday in January. A reminder that everything is still alive, and beautiful really, just frozen for the time being.

 

6 Comments
  1. January 17, 2011 8:26 pm

    Beautiful!
    -Janelle

  2. Natalie Scott permalink
    January 17, 2011 8:32 pm

    Well, it IS beautiful, but should I tell you about the lovely 60+ degree day we had today? Here I am whining about 1 awful cold week with kids indoors. I was so happy to have them playing outside again. I love Texas. Move back!! 🙂

    • January 18, 2011 7:14 am

      It was 20 degrees yesterday. I got back from a morning jog and Seth said, “It must have felt nice to run in such warm weather.” I said, “Oh yes, I was hot.”

  3. Alice-Anne permalink
    January 17, 2011 11:11 pm

    I love your beautiful pictures and your beautiful writing to match it! Glad you are soaking up Minnesota and all it’s seasons!

  4. January 18, 2011 1:16 pm

    I got a chill just reading this! And it’s 55 degrees outside!

  5. Flora permalink
    January 21, 2011 10:15 am

    Love Asher’s Calgary Flames toque (Canadian-speak for “knit hat.”) You are a gifted writer.

Comments are closed.

