Skip to content

The way to eat snow

January 18, 2011
tags:

The way to eat snow

is nice…and…slow.

Or quick

Like a trick

Before it melts

on that thin upper lip.

 

The way to eat snow

is young on the tongue.

Fresh from that sky

Way

Up

High.

 

Clean and white,

disappearing from sight

A melted plop

A candy drop.

 

The way to eat snow

is never yellow

or stained all black

from that snowplow track.

 

But newly fallen

That sweet taste callin’.

My mouth is home

to the world’s biggest snow cone.

Lick it, stick in it, roll with your soul.

Eat the world’s greatest show.

Snow.

4 Comments
  1. January 18, 2011 11:44 am

    I love your poem! Thanks for sharing!

  2. January 18, 2011 2:11 pm

    I just ADORE this!!! As I told Seth on Facebook, I hope that you have an illustrator lined up…what a PERFECT children’s book! Have you read Nobody’s Diggier Than a Dog by Susan Campbell Bartoletti? It’s written in a similar style. There’s also Nobody’s Nosier Than a Cat. We love them both – great illustrations, too. (I’m big on ILLUSTRATIONS! There are several very specific types that I’m in love with.) Also, you were the person who recommended Toot & Puddle to us, and I wanted to say THANK YOU! They have become our absolute favorites…Mason especially. I think “The New Friend” is my favorite. Such wonderful stuff. Would love to know what your current read-aloud favorites are. We’re always looking! 🙂

    • January 19, 2011 4:50 pm

      Thanks Natalie! You’re so nice. Have you read Little Pea by Amy Krouse Rosenthal? That was a big hit around here. There’s also Little Oink and Little Hoot. Also, we loved the book “What to Do About Alice”, which is about Teddy Roosevelt’s daughter. And has Maya read Pippi Longstocking yet? I read it out loud to the boys last year, and we just listened to it on tape again. So, so funny. I can see Maya liking a book about a precocious little girl with a lot of confidence. 🙂

  3. John Gholdston permalink
    January 18, 2011 3:36 pm

    Wonderful, of course.
    The absolutely best way to eat snow, of course, is on the wing, before it touches harsh reality and starts to die. It’s a talent I’ve never mastered, but keep practicing.

    Tiffany – one of my daughters wrote a children’s book I think your brood is at a stage to appreciate. If you will send me a good street address (via e-mail) I’ll happily send you a copy. Please send the e-mail to JohnGholdston@suu.edu.

    Great stuff!

Comments are closed.

