Skip to content

Pull up a chair

February 18, 2011

The chairs, the chairs! They’re finished. (The before picture is here.) They are probably one of my favorite decorating projects so far. I just love that splash of blue in my kitchen.

I can’t take much credit for the assembly. My friend Kalli wields a mean staple gun, so she guided me through the entire process while our kids played Iron Man/Spiderman in the basement. This is my first (but certainly not last) dabble into upholstery. It was so easy! And such an inexpensive way to add more color. (Notice how I keep mentioning color? That white landscape is making me a bit loopy. Don’t let me near a paintbrush in February.)

Rest assured, these chairs have already been inaugurated into the Lewis lifestyle, with spilled milk, chocolate chip pancakes, and blueberry oatmeal. And that just adds another brushstroke in the colorful character of this busy house.

*Quote of the week: Jackson came running into our room way, way past his bedtime and said, “Mom, I read in Ripley’s Believe it Or Not that there are people who can catch on fire with static electricity. I’m afraid that’s going to happen to me.”

I assured him that I’ve known many, many people in my lifetime, and only three have burst into flames spontaneously.*

8 Comments
  1. Amber permalink
    February 18, 2011 8:16 am

    Love (love!) those chairs!

  2. Ondalyn permalink
    February 18, 2011 12:16 pm

    They are absolutely adorable! You inspire me! 🙂

  3. Vivienne permalink
    February 18, 2011 2:34 pm

    They look great!

  4. Jenni Fisher permalink
    February 18, 2011 9:45 pm

    “another brushstroke in the colorful character of this busy house..” GREAT line!

    You have a good attitude about the spills when the chairs are so new.
    Fun vintage fabric. And I like the lines of the chair too. What a great way to bring Spring in.

  5. February 18, 2011 9:58 pm

    Tiffany, those look great. How funny that we both posted home improvement projects at the same time. It’s the season, isn’t it? I have some (laminated!) fabric waiting for me to re-cover our kitchen chairs with it.

  6. Sheralie permalink
    February 19, 2011 9:42 pm

    You have such a great vision for things. I love how it looks together. It feels so wonderful to occasionally do something that lasts longer than a meal or a day. Go Tiffany!

  7. Jennifer whiting permalink
    February 20, 2011 12:37 am

    Wow! It looks great, I love the blue as well. Sorry about the food on them,it comes with the territory, how about plastic!;)

Comments are closed.

