Skip to content

This busy boy

February 24, 2011

Our house is a house of action.

There is always a lot going on.


And this sweet boy, this boy takes action to a new level.

He is Lewis Boy squared.

Asher is, to be sure, my most independent child. His favorite thing to do is retrieve a sandwich baggie from the drawer, get some raisins or cereal, fill his little bag, and feed himself a snack. He comes to tell me his diaper needs changing. None of my other boys did this. He knows, quite reasonably, that Mom is just the tiniest bit distracted.

This truth gives him a lot of leeway to get into mischief. Mischief of epic proportion. Throwing a half dozen (organic!) eggs off the counter, filling the toilet with toothbrushes and floss, putting on my makeup.

At the end of each day, we both fall into bed, exhausted from all the adventures.

So the other day, after the toilet-egg-makeup incident (which, yes, all happened in the same day), I decided it was time to redirect Asher’s attention.

I pulled off the basement shelf my favorite book for toddler’s, appropriately named, “The Toddler’s Busy Book.” (There is one for preschoolers as well, which I love.) Because I will tell you, this boy doesn’t want to play with toys. He wants to be right by my side, throwing clothes in the washer, sweeping, washing dishes, stirring the food on the stove, and slapping together sandwiches. Which I love. But sometimes Mama needs a break, to sew or write or cook with both hands.

Enter this book, which has many good ideas for using what’s on hand to keep a little guy occupied.

Now, the be sure, each of these projects kept Asher busy for maybe five minutes. But it’s amazing what you can accomplish in five minutes when you’re not fishing floss out of the toilet.

Tea party has emerged as a clear favorite. (Especially when it involves chocolate chips or cheese.)

This is another favorite. When it’s too cold to play outside, we just bring the weather inside. And try to remind this sweet little boy that throwing snowballs across the kitchen is a no-no.

But that’s a post for another day…

9 Comments
  1. Allison Harkness permalink
    February 24, 2011 7:05 am

    Where did you get that tea set? I’ve been searching for a masculine/gender neutral tea set for a long time. Noah loved having tea parties when he was little but couldn’t bring myself to buy a pink princess tea set. That Curious George tea set is perfect!

    • February 24, 2011 3:22 pm

      Yes, it’s hard to find a “manly” tea set. This was a Christmas gift from my mom. She got it at Home Goods, but I imagine you could find it as any specialty toy shops that cater to more hands-on learning.

  2. Jill Turner permalink
    February 24, 2011 3:00 pm

    I love the snow idea, and I bet that would keep Lucas busy for a while, and the best part is I don’t have to go outside (being cold is my least favorite thing).

  3. Vivienne permalink
    February 24, 2011 3:38 pm

    Your busy day sounds a lot like mine! 🙂 I will have to check that book out I need more ideas!

  4. Meredith Williams permalink
    February 24, 2011 11:17 pm

    Those ideas are great. I feel like we are in the same boat. Either it’s a “Lewis” trait that our kids must always be into everything or they must be 2 years old! Evelyn also got into a dozen organic eggs and threw them all over the place. LUckily for me I was at the store, so I just apologized and got away with it whereas I’m sure your experience was a little more devastating. Good luck with that little busy boy. GOod thing he is so stinkin cute!

  5. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    February 24, 2011 11:42 pm

    What a adorable pictures! How could that little guy be so mischievous, he looks so innocent. Ha, Ha! I’m sure we’ll find out in June! He looks so much like his Daddy at that age.

  6. February 25, 2011 12:15 pm

    Wow, he looks exactly like Crismon Jr. when he was a toddler.

    If you think he’s fun now, wait until “Showtime!”

    • February 25, 2011 1:07 pm

      Dallin, when Asher smiles he has that impish Lewis grin, a la Emily and Crismon. “Showtime”–It’s coming, I’m sure of it.

  7. Jill permalink
    February 27, 2011 7:23 pm

    That is too funny! I love it! How can you not love busy little boys! I’m sure with your creativity you’ll find lots more things to occupy his attention!

Comments are closed.

