Skip to content

Both sides

March 1, 2011

At the start of the new year, I resolved to write 1,00 words every day of the week, excluding Sundays.

By the end of January, I had 20,000 words. I was one-third of my way through a novel. I also wrote an essay for an upcoming book through Covenant. And I contributed to this amazing multimedia project for The Friend Magazine. (Texas and Minnesota are coming soon…stay tuned!)

In January, I was a Writer.

Also, we ate a lot of pancakes for dinner. On paper plates. The house was cluttered around the edges. I was a tad bit lonely, and a tad bit ornery, because climbing inside your own brain for too many hours can do that to a person.

So in February I decided it was time to get a handle on things. It was time to stop filling my notebooks with poem and story ideas and pick up that vacuum.

I walked into the office for the first time in three months and nearly fainted. Six hours later, I could see the top of my desk.

In February we ate some amazing meals, with a tablecloth and candles. The house gleamed. I even cleaned out the car in ten below. We did sociable things with friends every weekend.

And, up until last Saturday, I had only written 10,000 words. I had very few story ideas, and only wrote half a poem.

So what I wish, Self, as I enter March, is that these two halves of me could please come together in some sort of happy union. Can’t I write and keep a clean house? Can’t good meals be happy on paper plates, as long as we have candles too?

Is there any hope for a writer to finally learn how to file the mail?

And while you’re at it, can I have four more hours in the day, and a 20-year life extension?

3 Comments
  1. Amber permalink
    March 1, 2011 9:05 am

    That is the crux of it all! It’s so hard to find that balance. I think my problem lies in the fact that I want to figure it out once and live my life from that point. The reality is that our focus needs change every year, month, or even week. And even though it’s not my natural inclination, I think we benefit from making those adjustments frequently. Makes us more mindful and present in our lives to re-asses often to what we need, what our family needs *now*.

    And by the way, both versions of you are awesome!

  2. Alice-Anne permalink
    March 1, 2011 10:07 pm

    Good for you for sticking with that goal so well. 1000 words a day…that would feel daunting. I am excited to see this novel! Good luck striking the perfect balance! And I love Asher’s little tweed suit coat. Love it.

  3. Mouse ;) permalink
    March 2, 2011 1:17 am

    Good luck finding the right balance. I have a hard time keeping up with housework whenever I have any project going on.
    But paper plates AND candles? I don’t know about your kids, but mine would burn the house down.

Comments are closed.

