Skip to content

March-ing thoughts

March 2, 2011

On cravings: Preston threw up last week. He was sick, sick, sick. I said, “Preston, is there any food that sounds good to you right now?”

He rolled over, face pale, and muttered, “Shrimp.”

On hidden places: I went to retrieve Asher from his crib after his nap. He was fishing around in the pocket of his corduroy pants. I don’t think there’s anything cuter than a toddler discovering his pockets. Finally he pulled out what he was looking for: a miniature plastic broom and soda pop bottle. Just savin’ them for later, Mom.

On dessert: We had root beer floats tonight. It’s the first time I’ve had a root beer float in 15 months.

Yum.

On Spring: Addison told me today, “Mom, I can’t wait for when it gets really warm, like 55 degrees, because then we can stop wearing snow pants at recess. And Mom, I took off my coat today at recess. For like, a whole minute.”

On radiation: When we moved into our house, I announced to the family that we were going to live microwave free. I bought a second-hand toaster oven that has been warming our Pyrex (but not the actual food inside) ever since. This is all much to Seth’s chagrin. (And also my mom’s, who was so worried about this radical venture that she bought Seth a microwave for Christmas. I had him pack it off to his office.)

On Friday I put two sticks of butter in the toaster oven to soften. I got chatting with my sister on the phone, and when I turned around, flames were leaping into the air. An entire box of baking soda later, the fire was out.

When Seth came home and witnessed the carnage, I told him I concede. He can have his microwave.

On culinary creativity: The school boys make their own lunches before school. Yesterday they created a new sandwich: Grape-Nuts, dried strawberries, and plain yogurt on wheat bread.

After school, I just had to ask.

“So how was your sandwich?” I said.

“Not tasty,” Addison replied. “I should have used vanilla yogurt instead.”

8 Comments
  1. Janelle permalink
    March 2, 2011 8:41 am

    So funny! Good for you for writing all these little things down. Things like this are always my favorite stories that my Mom tells from when my siblings and I were little.
    -J

    • March 3, 2011 12:36 pm

      I know. I’ve found if I don’t write them down right away, they’re lost!

  2. March 2, 2011 6:20 pm

    Ha Ha! these quotes are so great! I especially love addisons.
    and thank you for finally giving in to a microwave. I was worried I was going to have to bring one with me the next time i came to visit 🙂

  3. Alice-Anne permalink
    March 2, 2011 10:46 pm

    I laughed out loud at Addison’s sandwich story! So funny! You guys have quite the adventures!

  4. Jill Turner permalink
    March 3, 2011 8:52 am

    So wonderful! I especially love your thoughts on microwaves. I know I could never live without it, but I also choose to warm a lot of things in different ways to make sure health is preserved. But for butter softening, it’s straight in the microwave, and maybe there’s not as much radiation on power 3, right? My brother’s family has lived without microwaves for 20 years, and I know they’ll never have one; it’s pretty amazing I think.

    Also, I can’t wait until 55 degree weather comes along too, but at least we don’t have to haul snow pants to and from school–crazy! You’re little family is so amazing and creative–just like you (and Seth probably too).

    • March 3, 2011 12:38 pm

      I know, if anyone has other thoughts on how to soften butter, let me know. Just setting it out (on our cold, stone countertops) does not do the trick during these cold winter months. My bread doesn’t rise, and my butter certainly doesn’t soften. Tricky business.

  5. Rachel permalink
    March 5, 2011 7:59 pm

    SOOO good to know our prayers (and Seth’s) have been answered and you finally conceded to a microwave.

Comments are closed.

