Skip to content

Into the kitchen

March 8, 2011

Last week was my turn to teach preschool. Which I love, but I always feel as if I’m coming up for air when my week is done. (If you’re looking for an amazing preschool curriculum, this is the best one I’ve ever done. Love, love, love. And it’s not just for Mormons!)

We’re supposed to get another foot of snow this week. I have nothing pressing on my calendar. It’s time to do what I have been long avoiding: organize my kitchen.

I have found that certain rooms in a home need to be reassessed about every six months. The kitchen, where I spend about 90 percent of my time, is one of those. I like to have things right where I need them, and right where they work for everyone. Moving the drinking cups to a lower shelf comes to mind. As does moving spices to a higher shelf, because I have a toddler who takes intense interest in my cinnamon.

The entire pantry needs a reworking. The freezer has become a black hole. You understand.

I began with the cupboards and drawers yesterday. I’ll give you a sneak peak into what I found:

I’m giving this to you in black and white, because it was even more frightening in color.

This picture says so much. One, I really need to learn how to focus my camera. Two, you can tell the kids are in charge of unloading the dishwasher. Going through this drawer was a revelation. I found the long-lost cheese slicer, as well as my favorite measuring spoon.

My whole afternoon was like that. Who knew I had not one, but two crockpots? Who knew I hadn’t packed away the Christmas dishes?

Shh, I did, but the problem was I was still using them. Ten years into marriage we are down to two matching drinking glasses and no matching plates. My entire pots and pans set is clinging to its last breath of life. So this week will also be about restocking and retooling the bare spots. Get excited. Just look at this drawer now:

Brought to you by Technicolor.

Wait, where are you going? Come back! I haven’t shown you the interior of the dishwasher, or the underbelly of the kitchen sink yet!

7 Comments
  1. March 8, 2011 9:57 am

    looks like your finally found your silverware after all that unpacking! 🙂
    i want to breathe that summery minnesota air again! 🙂

    • March 8, 2011 2:16 pm

      We did, we did, although it took weeks, and I had to supplement with thrifted silverware. We would love for you to breathe the Minnesota air too! Isn’t our home right on the way to college? 🙂

  2. Janelle permalink
    March 8, 2011 2:20 pm

    Ooh! I LOVE good organization pics!Good job Tiffany.

  3. Rachel permalink
    March 8, 2011 3:57 pm

    That drawer makes me so proud. Would you believe I also went through some of my kitchen drawers yesterday and cleaned out/up the madness??
    Now on to the closets…..yikes!

  4. Jill Turner permalink
    March 8, 2011 4:34 pm

    I’m always rearranging my kitchen to my husband’s utter despair. He can never find anything, poor guy. But really, it is always better the new way. I’ve just sold some things from my kitchen in the local classifieds, and it is so awesome to take away some of the clutter and get some cash too! Yea for organization! You are a super woman; I’m pretty sure there isn’t anything you can’t do!!!

  5. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    March 8, 2011 11:02 pm

    Good work, Tiffany! Love the picture of the chef!

  6. March 10, 2011 2:28 pm

    I don’t see what’s wrong with that drawer. I mean really – there’s probably only 1 1/2 layers of stuff! I bet you can even close the drawer – AND open it. This is how our silverware drawer looks when it’s NEAT.

    …then again, we have a new walker. Maybe I should ask her about it.

Comments are closed.

