Skip to content

Kitchen redo, part one

March 11, 2011

We’re almost done with the kitchen around here. As you know, in order to organize in any substantial way, one must first make a very big mess. The family has been patient to move around the explosive clutter all week long, but oh, the sweet results.

In thinking of how to set this up, I realized I do four things every single day. I bake, I make green smoothies, and I cook up oatmeal and herbal tea for breakfast. With those set tasks in mind, I decided to create different “centers” in my kitchen where everything I needed was right within my reach.

So, whereas before I was crossing back and forth in the kitchen to gather the flour, salt, baking soda, and sugar, I can now pull out everything I need without moving. Oh, the efficiency experts would be proud.

Here’s my baking center. I’ve been hunting eight months to find the right kind of canisters, and finally spied them at Target. I wanted glass and I wanted big, something I could fit a whole measuring cup into. I never thought I could be so in love with a glass jar. Because of their size however, and the frequency with which I use them (and my kids use them), they get a lovely place right on the counter. It’s not the prettiest arrangement, but it works.

Right above the canisters and the mixer are all my sugars and spices. Here is the smoothie center:

All those neatly labeled jars just make me happy. This area has been a hit. The boys refer to it as the Lewis General Store, and treat it as such. I often catch them grabbing a handful of walnuts, dried coconut, or figs. (And sometimes Mama does too.) I always forget how much children love organization and knowing exactly where to find things.

These guys have been my super troopers all week while I’ve been a bit, ahem, distracted. They entertained themselves with my crude version of a marble run, and by peeling all the skins off my yellow onions. (Are my kids the only ones who love doing this?)

Back soon with the rest of the redo!

*We just got word of the terrible tsunami in Japan. Our thoughts and prayers are with all our family and friends along the Pacific Coast. Stay safe!

8 Comments
  1. Jill Turner permalink
    March 11, 2011 9:12 am

    Beautiful! I love the organization; you are such an inspiration. My husband has been begging me to move our Flour to the counter, but I don’t want my current containers out for the world to see, and I love empty counter space, but maybe, just maybe I could do it. I love that your kids eat figs and dried coconut; I’m afraid mine would never touch anything of the sort (unfortunately, they take after their picky mother). As a side note, I love your spoon holders, they remind me of Russia. Where did you find them? Happy Organizing!!!

    • March 11, 2011 2:23 pm

      Jill, it’s definitely a trade-off, isn’t it? I love counter space too, but the idea of lugging those big jars down every day–eek!

      Spoon holders from my favorite local thrift store!

  2. Allison Harkness permalink
    March 11, 2011 9:40 am

    Can I make a request? Will you write a blog post about your green smoothies. I’m very interested. By the way, I got a good laugh over your toaster oven butter softening experience!

    • March 11, 2011 2:25 pm

      Sure, I’d love to do a post about our smoothies! I’ll warn you: they’re pretty sludgy. But, they give me magical powers, so I love them.

  3. Rachel permalink
    March 11, 2011 3:03 pm

    I’m sure you knew when you posted that picture of the organized jars of stuff that I would just LOVE it. It seriously brought shivers!! My spice rack is calling out to me in envy….

  4. Janelle permalink
    March 11, 2011 3:15 pm

    Oh my goodness Tiffany, it’s beautiful! Good job.

  5. Megan permalink
    March 11, 2011 8:14 pm

    I love big cannisters! I’ve been trying to find that same type of thing. I will have to go check out Target.
    Now I am totally inspired to reorganize my kitchen.
    I would also like to read about your smoothies, and I would especially like to know which magical powers they give you.

  6. March 12, 2011 1:39 am

    I loved seeing the reliv in there too! ha ha! šŸ™‚
    And i’m with you with the glass jars.
    When I’m at home I have a large canning jar that i prefer to drink out of for all my meals and around the house. you would be proud! šŸ™‚
    And i was cleaning my room the other day and I found your cookie recipe that i copied down when i was in minnesota! So as soon as Lent is over…I’m making them because they were mighty fine! šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

