Skip to content

Kitchen redo, part two

March 14, 2011

This piece of furniture, my hutch, is the grand dame of the kitchen. She presides over mealtimes with quiet authority. Just looking at her makes me happy.

When we bought our home, this space was filled with a small rolling cart. (Holding a microwave! Double infraction.) I knew just what needed to go here. I want a large, old hutch with clean lines and lots of drawers. We came to Minnesota with my grandparent’s old farm table and a bookshelf. That was it in terms of furniture. The rest, about 90 percent, we bought at thrift stores. But I couldn’t find my hutch anywhere. Seth spotted it one day on Craig’s List, and off we went. When we picked it up to load it into the van, it literally fell apart. So after a few weeks of surgery in the garage, we gingerly slid it into its place of honor, never to be moved again.

So my hutch has been with us since the beginning, but I finally decorated and organized it to my liking this past week. Which is why you finally get to see it. It came with two lovely, delicate pieces of glass that go in those top cabinets, but you don’t get to see those. They are sheathed in newspaper, buried deep under my bed until the day when the family (that’s me included) learns to stop slamming doors.

Of all the changes I made in the kitchen this past week, this is the one of which I’m most proud. This corner housed the iPod, phone, and cell phone chargers, all in a jumbled mass of wires. So I found an old bread box, popped the back off, and voila:

Modern technology successfully masked.

Here’s Asher’s new toy box:

But Tiffany, that looks like a bunch of potatoes and recycling materials. Why yes, yes, it does. You can’t imagine the fun our toddler is having with empty salsa containers and spuds. I found potatoes all over the house yesterday. Hey, whatever keeps him happy.

By far the best change I made is that after seven months (and I can’t believe I’m admitting this here) I finally climbed way, way back on the counter behind the kitchen sink and pulled open the blinds. Zowie. More than any other change, that, to quote Robert Frost, has made all the difference.

13 Comments
  1. March 14, 2011 5:47 am

    that’s one sexy kitchen, sweets

  2. March 14, 2011 7:54 am

    It all looks amazing! The bread box is awesome…I”m totally stealing that idea. And now, every time I use my microwave, I think, “How would Tiffany do this?”
    (PS: I finally finished my green piano I was telling you about. Photos are up on the blog.)

    • March 14, 2011 11:01 am

      Thanks Sarah! Could you come visit and paint something green for me? I’m thinking my back lawn would be nice…

  3. Meredith Williams permalink
    March 14, 2011 12:10 pm

    Absolutely amazing!
    It is so homey…. and I’m in love with that china hutch!

  4. Alice-Anne permalink
    March 14, 2011 12:21 pm

    very lovely and creative…good work!

  5. March 14, 2011 1:11 pm

    Awesome kitchen! Now if I could find a way to make mine look as organized…

  6. March 14, 2011 1:36 pm

    Don’t be surprised if i show up at your house begging to live there….because it is jaw dropping gorgeous. It needs to be in a magazine. I LOVE what you have done with it. Doesn’t that clean kitchen just make you want to bake all the time…and than hope that the kitchen just cleans itself!
    And i love the hutch. You and Seth and remarkable Craiglist finders. If the professor jobs fails….craiglist will be there for you! 🙂
    love you!

  7. March 14, 2011 9:42 pm

    Oh, how fun! I love the bread box idea. I might be stealing. Kitchens are my favorite.

    • March 14, 2011 9:52 pm

      Liesl, steal away. No one know the great secret, until you have dinner guests over and the bread box starts ringing.

  8. March 15, 2011 8:28 pm

    I just read your article on Deseret News, and I really enjoyed it. I’ve been feeling the need to do something else for quite a while. I started teaching ballet again and started a new blog. Thanks for the great words of encouragement to so many mothers.

  9. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    March 27, 2011 10:51 pm

    These pictures look like they came out of Better Homes & Gardens. Stunning! Super great ideas! Come work on my kitchen….please!

Comments are closed.

