Skip to content

The secret to my super powers

March 16, 2011

We are big breakfast people around here. I hear there are people in this world who don’t eat breakfast, and this leaves me agog. We are all about the breakfast. In a very hobbit-like way, in fact. Second breakfast is also popular. I actually made pancakes for lunch yesterday. And dinner on Sunday. So it’s breakfast all day around here.

Five days a week the breakfast is oatmeal with blueberries and strawberries. Saturday is cereal. (Dad is in charge.) Sunday is something special, like pancakes, French toast, or apple oven pancakes.

For me, every day is smoothie day.

By popular demand, here is my recipe for green smoothies. I will warn you that I have a high tolerance for tedious literature and tastebud-shuddering food. Don’t say you haven’t been warned.

Here is my attempt to stage a photo. Asher kept snitching those blueberries, which is why it’s blurry.

My recipe is thus:

Two ripe bananas, two large tablespoons organic flax seed. two heaping tablespoons whey protein (unflavored), two handfuls almonds, five or six frozen strawberries, 1/3 cup frozen blueberries, about two cups spinach, three scoops Reliv Classic, and a scoop of frozen orange juice concentrate.

I cover the whole thing with water and blend. We have a Blendtec, which is a miracle machine. Seth and I split this very large smoothie down the middle, and even then it is a lot to drink.

The ingredients have morphed over time, and some days it tastes better than others. We started with kale, which is even healthier than spinach, but blech. Couldn’t do it. The blueberries are a new addition, and have improved the flavor quite a bit. In winter I keep a cup of herbal tea nearby to keep my insides from getting frostbite. Then I’m so full of liquid I have to lie on the couch for a minute to keep from bursting.

Here is where the magical powers come in. If I eat something like eggs or pancakes, I’m hungry again in a few hours. But this smoothie keeps me going all day. I can run miles and miles, clean house top to bottom, heft large toddlers, and save the world one dishrag at a time.

Kapow!

9 Comments
  1. Allison Harkness permalink
    March 16, 2011 5:17 am

    Thanks! I’m inspired!

  2. Heather permalink
    March 16, 2011 7:05 am

    No eggs???? They are so good for you? 😉

  3. March 16, 2011 10:50 am

    Yum. We have a Vita-mix and do shakes every morning too. I will try this one, sounds delish! We make a banana, oatmeal, yogurt shake that I love.

    • March 16, 2011 12:05 pm

      Your shake does sound good. We used to add oatmeal and yogurt, but I just couldn’t fit that many calories in me at one time, so we cut back.

  4. March 16, 2011 3:30 pm

    yumm (sorta) 🙂
    you should share the apple oven pancakes sometime. sounds delish!
    i mean evverything you make is delish….even TOFU! 🙂

  5. Jill Turner permalink
    March 16, 2011 5:59 pm

    We are breakfast people too! Breakfast, lunch or dinner. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your shake recipe; I can’t wait to try it.

  6. Jill permalink
    March 17, 2011 3:09 pm

    I will have to try that to see if I can get some of those super powers too!

  7. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    March 27, 2011 10:47 pm

    Love that morning power shake! I love my Classic, frozen banana, and berries, too!

Comments are closed.

