Skip to content

A case for the professor

March 30, 2011

The day Seth got his iPad, he sent me a link to an Etsy shop and asked, “Can you make this?”

I nearly did a backflip. Yes, please!

For starters, you crafters out there know when it comes to handmade, there isn’t much you can do for husbands. The one pair of pajama pants I made for Seth will go down in infamy. He still wears them when I cut his hair and we both drop to the floor in laughter every time. So I was thrilled to make something for Seth that he would use. And want.

Second, the pattern uses felted wool. You can buy this for a million bucks at the store, or you can make your own with old wool sweaters. If you haven’t done this before, chain yourself to something heavy, because it is downright addictive.

I keep a large stash of felted sweaters, so this project was as easy as picking a color, cutting a rectangle (8X10, if you’re wondering), and sewing it together. A thirty-minute success.

Seth was ecstatic. We’re still working out the kinks–we think a fastener at the top is in order–but it works great.

It must have been on Seth’s mind when he went to bed last night, because he had a dream that Steve Jobs attended an alumni reunion (I always knew he was a closet BYU grad) and caught sight of my iPad case.

Jobs turned to me in wonder and said, “This is brilliant. Can you make 50,000 of these?”

Well, alright Steve, I’ll do it for you. Just don’t ask me to make you a pair of pajamas.

3 Comments
  1. Jill Turner permalink
    March 30, 2011 8:19 am

    I know I’ve said it before, but you are SO talented!! Is there anything you can’t do? I don’t even know what felted wool is, nor do I have a sweater to make it from. Oh how much I have to learn. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    • March 30, 2011 11:45 am

      Jill, you are so kind. If you haven’t felted before, you should check out a book by Betz White. “Warm Fuzzies: 30 Sweet Felted Projects” is a great place to start. But tell you husband to hide his sweaters–it’s dangerous business once you begin.

  2. Vivienne permalink
    March 30, 2011 9:35 am

    That is awesome Tiffany!

Comments are closed.

