Skip to content

Our weekend

April 4, 2011

We had a special weekend around here. Every six months we have a conference where leaders from our church share messages of spirituality. The conference is eight hours long, broken up into four separate sessions.

That may sound long, but we love it! We sit down to watch TV about zero percent of the time, so this is a treat. I make a giant pan of apple crisp and other goodies. This year, in a sudden burst of energy, I also made pumpkin pie, banana-streusel muffins, rolls, and chicken stew with lemons and ginger. Whew!

Seth, who returned Sunday morning from a conference in Austin, brought back our favorite gourmet popcorn. Dill pickle was the clear winner.

I always like to have a project to work on during conference. Little ears listen better when their hands are moving.

This year the entire family helped tie a quilt for the people in Japan. It was such fun, I think we might do it every conference.

Addison also finished a project he’s been working on a long time. It’s a replica of the Nauvoo Temple, which was burned by arsons  in 1848 after the church members fled Illinois and headed West to Utah. It was rebuilt in 2002, and is where my brother Matt and his wife Lisa were married.

I was really moved this conference by the incredible music by the Tabernacle Choir and the messages of love and encouragement. As always, I came away inspired to be a better person and live a more Christlike life.

Starting right now, in this little family of mine.

May you all have joy and happiness in your families this week!

2 Comments
  1. Allison Harkness permalink
    April 4, 2011 7:31 am

    The quilt is a fabulous idea. I would love to hear how you set it up. That would be great for my boy.

  2. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    April 4, 2011 3:47 pm

    Your family is always abounding in good works! Wish we could have had a slice of that pumpkin pie. My mouth was watering!

Comments are closed.

