Skip to content

On the hunt for green

April 12, 2011

Friends, it is full-blown Spring around here, and the world looks different every day. Sunday brought green grass. Monday took the last of the ice off the lakes. Everything is shimmery and new.

I’m out in the garden every day, hunting for new life and prepping the beds for planting. However, the native Minnesotans keep telling me Not yet Tiffany. Patience. We have another six weeks before we can safely trust the weather around here.

So I’ve been doing, for several weeks now, a very different type of sprouting. Have you ever sprouted your own legumes and seeds for eating? I’ve wanted try for the longest time, but thought it would be too complicated.

Then for Christmas I bought a few family members and myself a seed-sprouting jar. (Something along the lines of this.) Even then it took me a few months to get going, but now I am hooked. If you can wash dishes, you can sprout your own seeds.

So far I’ve sprouted alfalfa and peas (my favorite). They are so, so yummy, and the kids think it’s great fun to munch on a handful of alfalfa sprouts. So, until I get the green light on outdoor planting, we’ll be busy inside with our edible sprouts.

(A good list of basic instructions can be found here. Like it says, you can forgo the fancy jar and just use a basic Ball jar and wire mesh screen in its place. Happy Sprouting!)

8 Comments
  1. Ondalynn permalink
    April 12, 2011 8:10 am

    Great idea! Thanks for the tips. Your food looks delicious! Happy gardening soon. 🙂

  2. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    April 12, 2011 12:19 pm

    Looks yummy and healthy! Good work.

  3. April 13, 2011 11:09 am

    I just read your article about teaching kids hard work and loved it. Thanks for writing it – I really enjoyed it!

  4. Megan permalink
    April 15, 2011 1:26 pm

    This looks so fun. I am totally going to do this with my kids. I think they will love it.

  5. Janice permalink
    April 15, 2011 8:31 pm

    Hey Tiff! Your pictures are colorful and beautiful. Addison looks like you did as a youngster. always in the mud!

  6. Terry Arvidson permalink
    April 16, 2011 2:44 pm

    Tiffany, what type of dried peas to you use? Can we just go buy them at a whole foods distributor?

    Thanks,

    Terry

    • April 18, 2011 12:50 pm

      Hi Terry! Yes, I think so. They need to be specifically sprouting peas. I got mine at a local natural-foods store.

Comments are closed.

